Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
10 Local Warehouse Gardening- Garden Structure
5 Remote Warehouse Gardening- Garden Structure

This title in other editions

American Eden: From Monticello to Central Park to Our Backyards: What Our Gardens Tell Us about Who We Are

by

American Eden: From Monticello to Central Park to Our Backyards: What Our Gardens Tell Us about Who We Are Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From Frederick Law Olmsted to Richard Neutra, Michelle Obama to our neighbors, Americans throughout history have revealed themselves in the gardens they create. Melding biography, history, and cultural commentary, American Eden presents a dynamic, sweeping, one-of-a-kind look at this country's landscapes and the visionaries behind them.

Monticello's gardens helped Jefferson reconcile his feelings about slavery. Edith Wharton's gardens made her feel more European. Isamu Noguchi's and Robert Smithson's experiments reinvigorated the age-old exchange between art and the garden. Manhattan's High Line park, reclaimed from freight train tracks, reimagined an urban landscape.

Moving deftly through time and place across America's diverse landscapes—from Revolutionary-era Virginia to turn-of-the-century Chicago to 1960s suburban California—and featuring an equally diverse cast of landscape-makers, whether artists, architects, housewives, robber barons, politicians, or dreamers, Wade Graham vividly unfolds the larger cultural history through more personal dramas.

Beautifully illustrated, American Eden is at once a different kind of garden book and a different kind of American history, one that offers a compelling, untold story that mirrors and illuminates our nation's invention—and constant reinvention—of itself.

Synopsis:

American Eden moves luminously through landscapes of history, literature, biography, and design theory. . . . fusing sharp-edged analysis and graceful American prose.” —Kevin Starr, author of Golden Gate: The Life and Times of America's Greatest Bridge

“Informative and absolutely engrossing.”  —Ross King, author of Brunelleschi's Dome 

Garden designer and historian Wade Graham offers a unique vision of the story of America in this riveting exploration of the nations gardens and the visionaries behind them, from Thomas Thomas Jeffersons Monticello to Michelle Obamas vegetable garden, Fredrick Law Olmsteds expansive Central Park to Martha Stewarts how-to landscaping guides. In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky, Simon Schama, and Michael Pollan, Graham delivers a sweeping social history that examines our nations history from an overlooked vantage point, illuminating anew the living drama of American self-creation.

About the Author

Wade Graham is a Los Angeles-based garden designer, historian,and writer whose work on the environment, landscape, urbanism, and the arts hasappeared in The New Yorker, Harper's Magazine, Los Angeles Times, Outside, andother publications.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061583438
Subtitle:
From Monticello to Central Park to Our Backyards: What Our Gardens Tell Us About Who We Are
Author:
Graham, Wade
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
Garden Design
Subject:
Gardening-Garden Structure
Subject:
United States - General
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20130402
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
9.125 x 7.375 x 1.2 in 17.78 oz

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Architecture » Landscape Architecture
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » US History » General
History and Social Science » World History » General
Home and Garden » Gardening » Fruits and Nuts
Home and Garden » Gardening » Garden Structure
Home and Garden » Gardening » Landscape and Design
Home and Garden » Gardening » Writing

American Eden: From Monticello to Central Park to Our Backyards: What Our Gardens Tell Us about Who We Are New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.99 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061583438 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , American Eden moves luminously through landscapes of history, literature, biography, and design theory. . . . fusing sharp-edged analysis and graceful American prose.” —Kevin Starr, author of Golden Gate: The Life and Times of America's Greatest Bridge

“Informative and absolutely engrossing.”  —Ross King, author of Brunelleschi's Dome 

Garden designer and historian Wade Graham offers a unique vision of the story of America in this riveting exploration of the nations gardens and the visionaries behind them, from Thomas Thomas Jeffersons Monticello to Michelle Obamas vegetable garden, Fredrick Law Olmsteds expansive Central Park to Martha Stewarts how-to landscaping guides. In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky, Simon Schama, and Michael Pollan, Graham delivers a sweeping social history that examines our nations history from an overlooked vantage point, illuminating anew the living drama of American self-creation.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.