The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Biography- Composers and Musicians
10 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir

by

Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir Cover

ISBN13: 9780061714375
ISBN10: 0061714372
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The fall and rise of a heavy metal icon

Dave Mustaine is the first to admit that he's bottomed out a few times in his dark and twisted speed metal version of a Dickensian life.

Impoverished, transient childhood? Check.

Abusive, alcoholic parent? Check.

Mind-fucking religious weirdness (in his case the extremes of the Jehovah's Witnesses and Satanism)? Check.

Alcoholism, drug addiction, homelessness? Check, check, check.

Soul-crushing professional and artistic setbacks? Check.

Rehab? Check (seventeen times, give or take).

Near-death experience? Check that one, too.

James Hetfield, with whom many years ago Mustaine founded a band known as Metallica, once observed, with some incredulity, that Mustaine must have been born with a horseshoe up his ass. That's how lucky he's been, how fortunate he is to be pulling breath after so many close calls. And Hetfield is right. Mustaine has been lucky. He has been blessed. But here's the thing about having a horseshoe lodged in your rectum: It also hurts like hell. And you never forget it's there.

Mustaine has battled through it all to achieve dizzying heights. From the early, heady days of Metallica, being unceremoniously let go only to become a world-famous rock star—founder, front man, singer, songwriter, and guitarist (and de facto CEO) for Megadeth, one of the most popular bands in heavy metal—Mustaine's is a story that will inspire, stun, and terrify.

Synopsis:

From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insiders look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.

About the Author

Dave Mustaine, widely regarded as the "founding father" of Thrash Metal, almost singlehandedly created the enduring multiplatinum style that launched both Megadeth and Metallica into the public's consciousness. From 1985's Killing Is My Business . . . and Business Is Good to the most recent Endgame, with more than twelve album releases with Megadeth, Mustaine has left a legacy of music that has been described as everything from "poignant" to "insightful" to "angry" to "ironic." Megadeth earned eight Grammy nominations and six platinum certifications. Mustaine lives in San Diego County, California.

An award-winning journalist and bestselling author, Joe Layden has written more than thirty books, including The Last Great Fight, which was named one of the best sports books of 2007 by Sports Illustrated and the American Library Association. He is also the co-author of the New York Times bestsellers There and Back Again and The Rock Says. . . . He lives in upstate New York.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

stephanie.watts, September 2, 2010 (view all comments by stephanie.watts)
Dave Mustaine : A person who has never sold out, never compromised, never changed the way he approached the music industry.

He writes music with passion & emotion. He has been put through the wringer and has persevered.
Finally an artist who has continued to please his fans while staying true to himself.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
frandavea, August 31, 2010 (view all comments by frandavea)
I have always enjoyed the music of Megadeth and admired Mr. Mustaine's intelligence. After reading his autobiography, I admire him even more. Candid, confessional and downright fascinating, Mustaine recalls his life and struggles in so much detail it's sort of a minor miracle he's even alive to tell it. Great read, one I'd suggest to both metal and non-metal fans.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061714375
Author:
Mustaine, Dave
Publisher:
It Books
With:
Layden, Joe
Author:
Mustaine, Dave
Author:
Layden, Joe
Subject:
Rock musicians -- United States.
Subject:
Mustaine, Dave
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Composers & Musicians - General
Subject:
Composers & Musicians - Rock
Subject:
Biography-Composers and Musicians
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.17 in 22.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. True Norwegian Black Metal New Hardcover $60.00
  2. Sound of the Beast: The Complete...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Music » Genres and Styles » Heavy Metal
Arts and Entertainment » Music » Genres and Styles » Rock » Biographies
Biography » Composers and Musicians
Biography » General

Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.99 In Stock
Product details 368 pages It Books - English 9780061714375 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insiders look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.