The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse General- General

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success (Large Print)

by

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success (Large Print) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Why have all the sprinters who have run the 100 meters in under ten seconds been black?

What's one thing Mozart, Venus Williams, and Michelangelo have in common?

Is it good to praise a child's intelligence?

Why are baseball players so superstitious?

Few things in life are more satisfying than beating a rival. We love to win and hate to lose, whether it's on the playing field or at the ballot box, in the office or in the classroom. In this bold new look at human behavior, award-winning journalist and Olympian Matthew Syed explores the truth about our competitive nature—why we win, why we don't, and how we really play the game of life. Bounce reveals how competition—the most vivid, primal, and dramatic of human pursuits—provides vital insight into many of the most controversial issues of our time, from biology and economics, to psychology and culture, to genetics and race, to sports and politics.

Backed by cutting-edge scientific research and case studies, Syed shatters long-held myths about meritocracy, talent, performance, and the mind. He explains why some people thrive under pressure and others choke, and weighs the value of innate ability against that of practice, hard work, and will. From sex to math, from the motivation of children to the culture of big business, Bounce shows how competition provides a master key with which to unlock the mysteries of the world.

Synopsis:

In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success—in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that youd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwells The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.

About the Author

A two-time Olympian and a graduate of Oxford University, Matthew Syed is a columnist for The Times (London), a commentator for the BBC, and a recipient of the British Press Award for Sports Journalist of the Year, and was named British Sports Feature Writer of the Year by the Sports Journalists' Association.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061946240
Subtitle:
Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success
Author:
Syed, Matthew
Author:
Syed, Mathew
Publisher:
HarperLuxe
Subject:
General
Subject:
Personal Growth - Success
Subject:
Success
Subject:
Large type books
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
General-General
Edition Description:
Large Print
Large Print:
Y
Publication Date:
20100504
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
408
Dimensions:
8.94x6.58x1.00 in. .96 lbs.

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Business Aspects

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success (Large Print) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.99 In Stock
Product details 408 pages Harperluxe - English 9780061946240 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success—in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that youd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwells The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.