No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 19, 2015

    Emma Hooper: IMG From Musician to Novelist



    I was asleep on the floor of the magicians' apartment. Not one, but three magicians lived there, and their mysterious, mischievous, and sometimes... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Business- Marketing
15 Local Warehouse Child Care and Parenting- General
25 Remote Warehouse Psychology- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Honest Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone--Especially Ourselves

by

The Honest Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone--Especially Ourselves Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational and The Upside of Irrationality returns with a thought-provoking work that challenges our preconceptions about dishonesty and urges us to take an honest look at ourselves.

Does the chance of getting caught affect how likely we are to cheat?
How do companies pave the way for dishonesty?
Does collaboration make us more or less honest?
Does religion improve our honesty?

Most of us think of ourselves as honest, but, in fact, we all cheat. From Washington to Wall Street, the classroom to the workplace, unethical behavior is everywhere. None of us is immune, whether it's a white lie to head off trouble or padding our expense reports. In The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty, award-winning, bestselling author Dan Ariely shows why some things are easier to lie about than others; how getting caught matters less than we think in whether we cheat; and how business practices pave the way for unethical behavior, both intentionally and unintentionally. Ariely explores how unethical behavior works in the personal, professional, and political worlds, and how it affects all of us, even as we think of ourselves as having high moral standards. But all is not lost. Ariely also identifies what keeps us honest, pointing the way for achieving higher ethics in our everyday lives.

With compelling personal and academic findings, The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty will change the way we see ourselves, our actions, and others.

Synopsis:

Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition.

Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

About the Author

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University. He is the founder and director of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in many outlets, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Boston Globe, and others. He lives in Durham, North Carolina, with his wife, Sumi, and their two creative children, Amit and Neta.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062183613
Author:
Ariely, Dan
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
World History-General
Subject:
Self-Help/Relationships
Subject:
Psychology
Subject:
Child Care and Parenting-General
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 in 10.4 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion
    Used Trade Paper $10.00
  2. The Explosive Child: A New Approach... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. The Black Swan: Second Edition: The...
    Used Trade Paper $9.00
  4. Book Yourself Solid: The Fastest,... Used Trade Paper $11.50
  5. How To Get Your Competition Fired... Used Hardcover $18.00
  6. The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How... New Trade Paper $24.00

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Marketing
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General Disorders
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Relationships
History and Social Science » World History » General

The Honest Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone--Especially Ourselves New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.99 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780062183613 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition.

Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.