Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

Coming Soon!

Preorder
$15.99
New Trade Paper
Available February 2015
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse US History- 19th Century

Astoria: John Jacob Astor's Great Expedition--A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

by

Astoria: John Jacob Astor's Great Expedition--A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival Cover

ISBN13: 9780062218308
ISBN10: 0062218301
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

About the Author

Peter Stark is the author of The Last Empty Spaces: A Past and Present Journey Through the Blank Spots on the American Map; Last Breath: The Limits of Adventure; At the Mercy of the River: An Exploration of the Last African Wilderness; and the essay collection Driving to Greenland: Arctic Travel, Northern Sport, and Other Ventures in the Heart of Winter. He also edited the anthology Ring of Ice: True Tales of Adventure, Exploration, and Arctic Life. A correspondent for Outside, he has written for Smithsonian and The New Yorker, among other publications, and has been nominated for a National Magazine Award. He lives in Montana.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Victoriana, July 15, 2014 (view all comments by Victoriana)
This book is an exciting true story of Astoria's history after Lewis & Clark, taken from journals and documents tracing the Overland Journey Party and the Seafaring Tonquin sailors. It traces the astute vision of John Jacob Astor who saw that the mouth of Columbia River could be the gateway to trade around the Pacific Rim. It is Astoria's past 200 years ago, and from this account we can appreciate the value of Astoria's valuable legacy for the future in Oregon. All the more reason to preserve our small town for future generations, as a special part of Oregon. This book is a must read, and one you won't want to put down as you learn more about this historic and beautiful part of the Oregon coast. After reading "Astoria" you will want to visit and see what all the history is about!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062218308
Subtitle:
John Jacob Astor's Great Expedition--A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival
Author:
Stark, Peter
Publisher:
Ecco
Subject:
US History-19th Century
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20150215
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.96 in 10.4 oz

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » US History » 19th Century
History and Social Science » World History » General
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » General

Astoria: John Jacob Astor's Great Expedition--A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.99 Backorder
Product details 384 pages Ecco Press - English 9780062218308 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.