This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 16, 2015

    Mary Pilon: IMG The Coffee Shops I Have Loved



    "Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?" – Albert Camus In the five years it took for me to complete my book, The Monopolists, I wrote... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
9 Beaverton Pacific Northwest- History
9 Beaverton Pacific Northwest- Featured Titles
3 Beaverton NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTION
11 Burnside Pacific Northwest- Oregon Coast
27 Burnside SOUVENIRS- GREEN
7 Burnside NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTION 2GREEN
1 Burnside USHIS- 1800- CIV W861
2 Burnside NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTIONORANGE
9 Hawthorne Pacific Northwest- History
5 Hawthorne NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTION
3 Hawthorne Travel- Featured Titles
25 Local Warehouse US History- 19th Century
25 Remote Warehouse World History- General

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier

by

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier Cover

ISBN13: 9780062218308
ISBN10: 0062218301
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

Synopsis:

In 1810, John Jacob Astor sent out two advance parties to settle the wild, unclaimed western coast of North America. More than half of his men died violent deaths. The others survived starvation, madness, and greed to shape the destiny of a continent. Unfolding from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship drawing extensively on firsthand accounts of the men who made the journey. Though Astoria, the colony itself, would be short-lived, its founders opened provincial American eyes to the remarkable potential of the Western coast, discovered the route that became the Oregon Trail, and permanently altered the nation's landscape and global standing.

About the Author

Peter Stark is the author of The Last Empty Spaces: A Past And Present Journey Through The Blank Spots On The American Map; Last Breath: The Limits Of Adventure; and At The Mercy Of The River: An Exploration Of The Last African Wilderness. A correspondent for Outside, he has written for Smithsonian and The New Yorker, among other publications, and has been nominated for a National Magazine Award. He lives in Montana.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Victoriana, July 15, 2014 (view all comments by Victoriana)
This book is an exciting true story of Astoria's history after Lewis & Clark, taken from journals and documents tracing the Overland Journey Party and the Seafaring Tonquin sailors. It traces the astute vision of John Jacob Astor who saw that the mouth of Columbia River could be the gateway to trade around the Pacific Rim. It is Astoria's past 200 years ago, and from this account we can appreciate the value of Astoria's valuable legacy for the future in Oregon. All the more reason to preserve our small town for future generations, as a special part of Oregon. This book is a must read, and one you won't want to put down as you learn more about this historic and beautiful part of the Oregon coast. After reading "Astoria" you will want to visit and see what all the history is about!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062218308
Subtitle:
Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier
Author:
Stark, Peter
Publisher:
Ecco
Subject:
US History-19th Century
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20150210
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.96 in 10.4 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate...
    Used Trade Paper $11.00
  2. The War That Ended Peace: The Road...
    New Trade Paper $20.00
  3. Unbroken: A World War II Story of...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. Imprisoned in Paradise: Japanese... New Trade Paper $19.95
  5. The Men Who United the States:... Used Trade Paper $11.95
  6. Brother Sun, Sister Moon: Saint... Sale Hardcover $8.98

Related Subjects

Calendars, Notebooks, and Gifts » Souvenirs
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » New Arrivals » Nonfiction
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » Featured Titles
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » General
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » History
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » Oregon » Coast
History and Social Science » US History » 19th Century
History and Social Science » World History » General
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » General
Travel » Featured Titles

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.99 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Ecco Press - English 9780062218308 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In 1810, John Jacob Astor sent out two advance parties to settle the wild, unclaimed western coast of North America. More than half of his men died violent deaths. The others survived starvation, madness, and greed to shape the destiny of a continent. Unfolding from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship drawing extensively on firsthand accounts of the men who made the journey. Though Astoria, the colony itself, would be short-lived, its founders opened provincial American eyes to the remarkable potential of the Western coast, discovered the route that became the Oregon Trail, and permanently altered the nation's landscape and global standing.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.