Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Nonfiction- World History
20 Remote Warehouse Children's Nonfiction- World History

This title in other editions

The Butterfly

by

The Butterfly Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Since the tall boots, the Nazi's, have invaded Monique's small French village, nothing surprises her. Until she meets the ghost in the attic — who happens to be, not a ghost at all, but a young Jewish girl named Sevrine who has been hiding from the Nazi's in her very own home. Thus unfolds the story of these two girls — their growing friendship, and the heartwrenching moment when they are forced into a nighttime flight from the country that could cost young Sevrine, and her family, their lives.

Synopsis:

During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. In the tradition of "Pink and Say, " Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance. Full color.

Synopsis:

Ever since the Nazis marched into Monique?s small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her, until the night Monique encounters ?the little ghost? sitting at the end of her bed. She turns out to be a girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique?s basement. Playing after dark, the two become friends, until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight.

About the Author

Patricia Polacco lives in Union City, Michigan.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142413067
Author:
Polacco, Patricia
Publisher:
Puffin Books
Subject:
History - Holocaust
Subject:
History - Europe
Subject:
Biography & Autobiography - Historical
Subject:
Jews
Subject:
World war, 1939-1945
Subject:
World War, 1939-1945 -- France.
Subject:
France - History - German occupation, 1940-
Subject:
Holocaust
Subject:
Children s Nonfiction-World History
Edition Description:
Trade Paper, Picture
Publication Date:
20090231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 1 up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
48
Dimensions:
11.04x8.38x.13 in. .44 lbs.
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. Crows and Cards Used Hardcover $1.98
  2. A Foot in the Mouth: Poems to Speak,... New Hardcover $17.99
  3. Eats, Shoots and Leaves: Why, Commas... Used Hardcover $7.95
  4. Closed for the Season Used Trade Paper $3.95
  5. The Rising Star of Rusty Nail Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. Ringside, 1925
    Used Trade Paper $5.00

Related Subjects

Children's » History » World History
Children's » Nonfiction » Biographies
Children's » Nonfiction » World History » General
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Young Adult » Nonfiction » Biographies

The Butterfly New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 48 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142413067 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. In the tradition of "Pink and Say, " Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance. Full color.
"Synopsis" by ,
Ever since the Nazis marched into Monique?s small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her, until the night Monique encounters ?the little ghost? sitting at the end of her bed. She turns out to be a girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique?s basement. Playing after dark, the two become friends, until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.