Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

Coming Soon!

Preorder
$17.00
New Trade Paper
Available May 27, 2014
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Sports General

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brownandrsquo;s robust book tells the story of the University of Washingtonandrsquo;s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembledand#160; by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls togetherandmdash;a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boysandrsquo; own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of timesandmdash;the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

Synopsis:

The New York Timesand#150;bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

Out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of timesand#151;the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washingtonand#8217;s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boysand#8217; own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young manand#8217;s personal quest.

About the Author

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky. He lives outside of Seattle.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143125471
Subtitle:
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Author:
Brown, Daniel James
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Olympics
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20140527
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Illustrations:
40 photos t/o text
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.44 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 Backorder
Product details 416 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143125471 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
The New York Timesand#150;bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

Out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of timesand#151;the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washingtonand#8217;s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boysand#8217; own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young manand#8217;s personal quest.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.