Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
7 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction
13 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

What Happened to Lani Garver

by

What Happened to Lani Garver Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop--a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Review:

"When a new student shows up, no one can tell if Lani is male or female. And then the question arises about whether Lani is human at all, or rather a 'floating angel.' According to PW, 'the plotting exerts a sure grip.' Ages 14-up. (May) " Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Outcast Lani Garver helps sixteen-year-old Claire face her problems.

Synopsis:

ShadowStrike poisoned the water of Trinity Falls two months ago. Now the Trinity Four, the teens most affected by the poison, have been isolated in a remote mansion, under twenty-four-hour medical care while scientists on four continents rush to discover a cure. Meanwhile, U.S. operatives scour the world for the bioterrorists responsible for this heinous crime, as two teen virtual spies, also infected, hunt for the criminals on the Internet. The danger remains realfor ShadowStrike has every reason to pursue the Trinity Four, and their evil plan will unleash a new designer virus thats even deadlier than the first.

Synopsis:

The close-knit residents of Hackett Island have never seen anyone quite like Lani Garver. Everything about this new kid is a mystery: Where does Lani come from? How old is Lani? And most disturbing of all, is Lani a boy or a girl?

Claire McKenzie isn't up to tormenting Lani with the rest of the high school elite. Instead, she befriends the intriguing outcast. But within days of Lani's arrival, tragedy strikes and Claire must deal with shattered friendships and personal demons--and the possibility that angels may exist on earth.

About the Author

CAROL PLUM-UCCI is a graduate of Purdue University and has received numerous awards and citations in entertainment and business writing. She is the author of The Body of Christopher Creed (Harcourt, 2000), which was named a Michael L. Printz Honor book and was nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award. She lives in New Jersey.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152050887
Author:
Plum-ucci, Carol
Publisher:
Harcourt Paperbacks
Author:
Plum-Ucci, Carol
Author:
Tucholke, April Genevieve
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Subject:
Social Situations - Friendship
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - Mystery
Subject:
Prejudices
Subject:
Alcoholism
Subject:
Social Situations - Peer Pressure
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Situations / Violence
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Peer Pressure
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
Homosexuality
Subject:
Islands
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20040531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in 0.5 lb
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. Stravaganza: City of Masks
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. If I Should Die Before I Wake
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Speak
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. The Body of Christopher Creed Sale Trade Paper $3.98
  5. White Oleander (Oprah's Book Club)
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  6. Monster
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Homosexuality
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Peer Pressure
Young Adult » General

What Happened to Lani Garver New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Harcourt Paperbacks - English 9780152050887 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "When a new student shows up, no one can tell if Lani is male or female. And then the question arises about whether Lani is human at all, or rather a 'floating angel.' According to PW, 'the plotting exerts a sure grip.' Ages 14-up. (May) " Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
Outcast Lani Garver helps sixteen-year-old Claire face her problems.

"Synopsis" by ,
ShadowStrike poisoned the water of Trinity Falls two months ago. Now the Trinity Four, the teens most affected by the poison, have been isolated in a remote mansion, under twenty-four-hour medical care while scientists on four continents rush to discover a cure. Meanwhile, U.S. operatives scour the world for the bioterrorists responsible for this heinous crime, as two teen virtual spies, also infected, hunt for the criminals on the Internet. The danger remains realfor ShadowStrike has every reason to pursue the Trinity Four, and their evil plan will unleash a new designer virus thats even deadlier than the first.
"Synopsis" by ,
The close-knit residents of Hackett Island have never seen anyone quite like Lani Garver. Everything about this new kid is a mystery: Where does Lani come from? How old is Lani? And most disturbing of all, is Lani a boy or a girl?

Claire McKenzie isn't up to tormenting Lani with the rest of the high school elite. Instead, she befriends the intriguing outcast. But within days of Lani's arrival, tragedy strikes and Claire must deal with shattered friendships and personal demons--and the possibility that angels may exist on earth.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.