Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Book News | May 11, 2015

    Chris Hedges: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Chris Hedges



    Describe your latest book. Wages of Rebellion looks at the nature of rebellion, those who do it, why they do it, and the price they pay for being a... Continue »
    1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Wages of Rebellion

      Chris Hedges 9781568589664

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction
12 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

What Happened to Lani Garver

by

What Happened to Lani Garver Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop--a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Review:

"When a new student shows up, no one can tell if Lani is male or female. And then the question arises about whether Lani is human at all, or rather a 'floating angel.' According to PW, 'the plotting exerts a sure grip.' Ages 14-up. (May) " Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Outcast Lani Garver helps sixteen-year-old Claire face her problems.

Synopsis:

This fictional re-creation of a crime that happened in Mary Downing Hahn's Maryland hometown in 1955—the murder of two teenage girls—is at once a mystery and a coming-of-age story.  Told from several perspectives, including that of the murderer, this latest work from the award-winning and best-selling author is sure to captivate readers.

Synopsis:

In this debut teen thriller, Tricia Farni was last seen alive the night she fought with Roswell Hart—a night Roz cant remember. Can Roz piece together the events of that night, despite the eye disease that robs her of most of her vision, in order to clear her name and find a murderer?

Synopsis:

You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop--a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Synopsis:

Theres none so blind as they that wont see.

Seventeen-year-old Tricia Farnis body floated to the surface of Alaskas Birch River six months after the night she disappeared. The night Roz Hart had a fight with her. The night Roz cant remember. Roz, who struggles with macular degeneration, is used to assembling fragments to make sense of the world around her. But this time its her memory that needs piecing together—to clear her name . . . to find a murderer. This unflinchingly emotional novel is written in the powerful first-person voice of a legally blind teen who just wants to be like everyone else.

About the Author

CAROL PLUM-UCCI is a graduate of Purdue University and has received numerous awards and citations in entertainment and business writing. She is the author of The Body of Christopher Creed (Harcourt, 2000), which was named a Michael L. Printz Honor book and was nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award. She lives in New Jersey.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152050887
Author:
Plum-ucci, Carol
Publisher:
Dial
Author:
Hahn, Mary Downing
Author:
Ellen, Laura
Author:
Plum-Ucci, Carol
Author:
Tucholke, April Genevieve
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Subject:
Social Situations - Friendship
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - Mystery
Subject:
Prejudices
Subject:
Alcoholism
Subject:
Social Situations - Peer Pressure
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Situations / Violence
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Peer Pressure
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
Homosexuality
Subject:
Islands
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20130815
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in 0.5 lb
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. Stravaganza: City of Masks
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. Dreamland
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. If I Should Die Before I Wake
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  4. Speak
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  5. White Oleander (Oprah's Book Club)
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  6. Monster
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Homosexuality
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Peer Pressure
Young Adult » General

What Happened to Lani Garver New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Harcourt Paperbacks - English 9780152050887 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "When a new student shows up, no one can tell if Lani is male or female. And then the question arises about whether Lani is human at all, or rather a 'floating angel.' According to PW, 'the plotting exerts a sure grip.' Ages 14-up. (May) " Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
Outcast Lani Garver helps sixteen-year-old Claire face her problems.

"Synopsis" by , This fictional re-creation of a crime that happened in Mary Downing Hahn's Maryland hometown in 1955—the murder of two teenage girls—is at once a mystery and a coming-of-age story.  Told from several perspectives, including that of the murderer, this latest work from the award-winning and best-selling author is sure to captivate readers.
"Synopsis" by , In this debut teen thriller, Tricia Farni was last seen alive the night she fought with Roswell Hart—a night Roz cant remember. Can Roz piece together the events of that night, despite the eye disease that robs her of most of her vision, in order to clear her name and find a murderer?
"Synopsis" by ,
You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop--a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

"Synopsis" by ,

Theres none so blind as they that wont see.

Seventeen-year-old Tricia Farnis body floated to the surface of Alaskas Birch River six months after the night she disappeared. The night Roz Hart had a fight with her. The night Roz cant remember. Roz, who struggles with macular degeneration, is used to assembling fragments to make sense of the world around her. But this time its her memory that needs piecing together—to clear her name . . . to find a murderer. This unflinchingly emotional novel is written in the powerful first-person voice of a legally blind teen who just wants to be like everyone else.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.