Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 2, 2014

    Cary Elwes: IMG Cary Elwes: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Biography
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- People and Cultures

More copies of this ISBN

Wangari's Trees of Peace: A True Story from Africa

by

Wangari's Trees of Peace: A True Story from Africa Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

As a young girl growing up in Kenya, Wangari was surrounded by trees. But years later when she returns home, she is shocked to see whole forests being cut down, and she knows that soon all the trees will be destroyed. So Wangari decides to do something—and starts by planting nine seedlings in her own backyard. And as they grow, so do her plans. . . .

         This true story of Wangari Maathai, environmentalist and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, is a shining example of how one womans passion, vision, and determination inspired great change.

         Includes an authors note.

This book was printed on 100% recycled paper with 50% postconsumer waste.

 

 

Review:

"Wangari Maathai, the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize winner whose Green Belt Movement has planted 30 million trees in Kenya, is the subject of Winter's (The Librarian of Basra) eloquent picture biography. Much like Claire Nivola's recent Planting the Trees of Kenya, this work, for a slightly younger audience, introduces Wangari as a child, 'liv[ing] under an umbrella of green trees in the shadow of Mount Kenya.' The tightly focused text moves quickly without sacrificing impact. Wangari earns a scholarship to study in the U.S., and when she returns after six years, she's stunned — setting down her luggage in a veritable wasteland, extending her palms as if imploring someone to answer her unspoken questions: 'What has happened?... Where are the trees?'She plants seedlings in her own backyard — a small start that eventually inspires thousands of others (and, perhaps, the reader) to emulate her. Winter's images appear in framed, same-size squares on each page, creating a flat, frieze-like effect that pays off as Wangari's movement grows and the activities within each frame multiply — a powerful demonstration of Wangari's work. Ages 3 — 7. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

A picture book based on the true story of Wangari Maathai, an environmental and political activist in Kenya and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2004

Synopsis:

From the author of "The Librarian of Basra" comes a picture book based on the true story of Wangari Maathai, an environmental and political activist in Kenya and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2004 who sets out to replenish her country's forests. Full color.

Synopsis:

Moving is hard--but friends make it easier.

In this stunning multicultural picture book illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medalist Freya Blackwood, a young girl has moved to a new country with her auntie,and#160;and misses all sheand#39;s ever known. Everything in her new country feels so strange: the animals, the plants--even the wind. To comfort herself, she creates a safe place under her old blanket, which is made out of memories, thoughts, and reminders of home. After meeting a new friend in the park, the girl begins to weave a new blanket--one made of friendship, new words, and a renewed sense of belonging. Itand#39;s very different from the old blanket, but it eventually becomes just as warm and familiar--and one to share with her new friend.

and#160; and#160; and#160;Fans of Tricia Tusa, Helen Oxenbury, Marla Frazee, and Matt Phelan will delight in reading this warm story alongside Blackwoodand#39;s artwork.

About the Author

JEANETTE WINTER has written and illustrated many books for children, including MAMA, The Librarian of Basra, Calavera Abecedario: A Day of the Dead Alphabet Book, My Name Is Georgia, and Josefina. She lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152065454
Author:
Winter, Jeanette
Publisher:
Harcourt Children's Books
Author:
Kobald, Irena
Author:
Blackwood, Freya
Subject:
Politics & Government
Subject:
Women politicians
Subject:
Kenya
Subject:
Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage
Subject:
Social Science - Politics & Government
Subject:
People & Places - Africa
Subject:
People of Color
Subject:
Maathai, Wangari
Subject:
Tree planters (Persons) - Kenya
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Biography
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Edition Description:
Hardback - picture book
Publication Date:
20080931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to 2
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color illustrations
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
9.88 x 8.25 in 1 lb
Age Level:
03-07

Other books you might like

  1. The Red Necklace: A Story of the... Used Hardcover $4.50
  2. Arab Science and Invention in the... New Hardcover $18.75
  3. Edge Chronicles #02: Stormchaser New Trade Paper $8.99
  4. Chains
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Edge Chronicles #01: Beyond the... New Trade Paper $6.99
  6. Savvy
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Nonfiction » Biographies
Children's » Nonfiction » Current Affairs
Children's » Nonfiction » Plants
Children's » Nonfiction » Plants and Weather
Children's » Nonfiction » World Cultures
Children's » Peace and Justice
Children's » People and Cultures
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science and Nature » Plants and Trees
Young Adult » Nonfiction » Biographies

Wangari's Trees of Peace: A True Story from Africa New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Harcourt Children's Books - English 9780152065454 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Wangari Maathai, the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize winner whose Green Belt Movement has planted 30 million trees in Kenya, is the subject of Winter's (The Librarian of Basra) eloquent picture biography. Much like Claire Nivola's recent Planting the Trees of Kenya, this work, for a slightly younger audience, introduces Wangari as a child, 'liv[ing] under an umbrella of green trees in the shadow of Mount Kenya.' The tightly focused text moves quickly without sacrificing impact. Wangari earns a scholarship to study in the U.S., and when she returns after six years, she's stunned — setting down her luggage in a veritable wasteland, extending her palms as if imploring someone to answer her unspoken questions: 'What has happened?... Where are the trees?'She plants seedlings in her own backyard — a small start that eventually inspires thousands of others (and, perhaps, the reader) to emulate her. Winter's images appear in framed, same-size squares on each page, creating a flat, frieze-like effect that pays off as Wangari's movement grows and the activities within each frame multiply — a powerful demonstration of Wangari's work. Ages 3 — 7. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
A picture book based on the true story of Wangari Maathai, an environmental and political activist in Kenya and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2004
"Synopsis" by , From the author of "The Librarian of Basra" comes a picture book based on the true story of Wangari Maathai, an environmental and political activist in Kenya and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2004 who sets out to replenish her country's forests. Full color.
"Synopsis" by ,
Moving is hard--but friends make it easier.

In this stunning multicultural picture book illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medalist Freya Blackwood, a young girl has moved to a new country with her auntie,and#160;and misses all sheand#39;s ever known. Everything in her new country feels so strange: the animals, the plants--even the wind. To comfort herself, she creates a safe place under her old blanket, which is made out of memories, thoughts, and reminders of home. After meeting a new friend in the park, the girl begins to weave a new blanket--one made of friendship, new words, and a renewed sense of belonging. Itand#39;s very different from the old blanket, but it eventually becomes just as warm and familiar--and one to share with her new friend.

and#160; and#160; and#160;Fans of Tricia Tusa, Helen Oxenbury, Marla Frazee, and Matt Phelan will delight in reading this warm story alongside Blackwoodand#39;s artwork.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.