It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
6 Remote Warehouse Science Fiction and Fantasy- Fantasy- Contemporary
7 Remote Warehouse Science Fiction and Fantasy- Fantasy- Contemporary

Child of Fire: A Twenty Palaces Novel

by

Child of Fire: A Twenty Palaces Novel Cover

ISBN13: 9780345508898
ISBN10: 0345508890
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Ray Lilly is living on borrowed time. He’s the driver for Annalise Powliss, a high-ranking member of the Twenty Palace Society, a group of sorcerers devoted to hunting down and executing rogue magicians. But because Ray betrayed her once, Annalise is looking for an excuse to kill him–or let someone else do the job.

Unfortunately for both of them, Annalise’s next mission goes wrong, leaving her critically injured. With the little magic he controls, Ray must complete her assignment alone. Not only does he have to stop a sorcerer who’s sacrificing dozens of innocent lives in exchange for supernatural power, he must find–and destroy–the source of that inhuman magic.

Review:

"Connolly's gritty urban fantasy debut is not so urban: it takes place in Hammer Bay, Wash., where residents are thankful for the toy factory that stimulates their economy and are apparently oblivious to the frequent magical immolations of local children. Convicted felon Ray Lilly works for the mysterious Annalise Powliss and the Twenty Palace Society, hunting down people who use magic and the otherworldly predators whose power they channel. Callous Annalise and hard-nosed Ray have a complicated personal history that gradually comes to light as the Society faces off against factory employees, local law enforcement and other corrupt forces in the town. Unique magical concepts, a tough and pragmatic protagonist and a high casualty rate for innocent bystanders will enthrall readers who like explosive action and magic that comes at a serious cost." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Making his debut, Connolly delivers the first book in a new urban paranormal series that is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and Simon Green's "The Man with the Golden Torc." Original.

Synopsis:

Ray Lilly is living on borrowed time. Hes the driver for Annalise Powliss, a high-ranking member of the Twenty Palace Society, a group of sorcerers devoted to hunting down and executing rogue magicians. But because Ray betrayed her once, Annalise is looking for an excuse to kill him-or let someone else do the job.

Unfortunately for both of them, Annalises next mission goes wrong, leaving her critically injured. With the little magic he controls, Ray must complete her assignment alone. Not only does he have to stop a sorcerer whos sacrificing dozens of innocent lives in exchange for supernatural power, he must find-and destroy-the source of that inhuman magic.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

tyche, January 15, 2012 (view all comments by tyche)
Not your typical urban fantasy, no vampires, angels or demon, but magic and monsters they are here. Ray Lilly, an ex-con turned monster hunter, the world is a dangerous place, full of predators from outside everything. Ray and his boss Annalise kill them or die trying. Excellent fast paced urban horror.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
rabid reader, December 31, 2009 (view all comments by rabid reader)
I bought Child of Fire because I read a few very good reviews of Child of Fire. BTW, Good reviews of a book usually plays a small part in my decision to read a book because sometimes professional reviewers will rave about a book that I think is so very, very boring - or I end up having completely different tastes than the reviewers.

This book interested me from the first page. I liked the main character, who seems to be "living on borrowed time" (from the book blurb). Any minute he could die and his boss wouldn't mind, in fact would kill him herself if she wasn't under orders not to. Ray Lilly is working under Annalise, driving her around and doing whatever she says with no respect from her, or explanations. In fact she doesn't even care if he's hungry.

Ray is an ex-con who used to steal cars. Throughout the story thoughts flit through his head about how easy it would be steal this car, or take that money. He's trying to stay away from crime, but things keep getting in his way, and sh- keeps happening. People end up dead around him. A lot of them deserve it, but still...he's always worrying about going back to prison.

In Child of Fire the two of them are investigating a town where people are dying as sacrifices for magic use. Things go horribly wrong for them, and Ray keeps getting attacked and accosted by the sheriff, deputies and thugs that work for the local madam. The whole town is strange.

One of the things that I look for in a book is intelligent dialogue, or at least non-lame dialogue. The dialogue in this book was pretty good, there was some sarcasm (something I can appreciate) and some joking around (always a plus) along with dialogue that actually adds to the plot (rather than just to fill up space, or over-explain).

The sequel, Game of Cages will be released soon -possibly August 2010.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345508898
Author:
Connolly, Harry
Publisher:
Del Rey Books
Subject:
Fantasy - Contemporary
Subject:
Fantasy - Paranormal
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy-Contemporary
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
Twenty Palaces
Publication Date:
20090931
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
7 x 4.21 x 1 in .4 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Roadkill: A Cal Leandros Novel New Mass Market $7.99
  2. Clockwork Heart
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Unleashed Sale Mass Market $3.85
  4. Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles)
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. The Diva Paints the Town (Domestic... Used Mass Market $4.95
  6. Amazon Ink New Mass Market $8.25

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Contemporary
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Paranormal

Child of Fire: A Twenty Palaces Novel New Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Del Rey Books - English 9780345508898 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Connolly's gritty urban fantasy debut is not so urban: it takes place in Hammer Bay, Wash., where residents are thankful for the toy factory that stimulates their economy and are apparently oblivious to the frequent magical immolations of local children. Convicted felon Ray Lilly works for the mysterious Annalise Powliss and the Twenty Palace Society, hunting down people who use magic and the otherworldly predators whose power they channel. Callous Annalise and hard-nosed Ray have a complicated personal history that gradually comes to light as the Society faces off against factory employees, local law enforcement and other corrupt forces in the town. Unique magical concepts, a tough and pragmatic protagonist and a high casualty rate for innocent bystanders will enthrall readers who like explosive action and magic that comes at a serious cost." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Making his debut, Connolly delivers the first book in a new urban paranormal series that is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and Simon Green's "The Man with the Golden Torc." Original.
"Synopsis" by , Ray Lilly is living on borrowed time. Hes the driver for Annalise Powliss, a high-ranking member of the Twenty Palace Society, a group of sorcerers devoted to hunting down and executing rogue magicians. But because Ray betrayed her once, Annalise is looking for an excuse to kill him-or let someone else do the job.

Unfortunately for both of them, Annalises next mission goes wrong, leaving her critically injured. With the little magic he controls, Ray must complete her assignment alone. Not only does he have to stop a sorcerer whos sacrificing dozens of innocent lives in exchange for supernatural power, he must find-and destroy-the source of that inhuman magic.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.