Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
6 Burnside ROSE- 608/ENDCAP608EndCap
1 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

More copies of this ISBN

The Sixty-Eight Rooms

by

The Sixty-Eight Rooms Cover

ISBN13: 9780375857119
ISBN10: 0375857117
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the first exciting Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—the perfect next step for kids who loved the Magic Tree House series, and readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck! Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the deep inside the Chicago Art Institute they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms. Each room is set in a different historic period, and every detail is perfect. Some might even say, the rooms are magic. Imagine—what if on a field trip, you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you could sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

The New York Times:

 "Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:

"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:

"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

Synopsis:

Another globe-spinning literary mystery awaits as Colophon Letterford's quest to uncover Shakespeare's secrets takes her back to his puzzling roots in this thrilling sequel to Secrets of Shakespeare's Grave.
 

Synopsis:

Colophon Letterfords life changed overnight when she uncovered Shakespeares lost manuscripts. Now the authenticity of those manuscripts is in question and the family publishing business is in danger. In this exciting mystery, thirteen-year-old Colophon travels from Oxfords lofty Tower of the Five Orders to the dank depths of Londons sewers in her pursuit of truth and honor. But the stakes are high. Budding cryptologists, Shakespeare fans, and mystery lovers alike will revel in the twists and turns of this fascinating middle grade sequel to Secrets of Shakespeares Grave.

Synopsis:

US

About the Author

Marianne Malone is the cofounder of the Campus School Middle School for Girls in Urbana, Illinois. She and her husband divide their time between Urbana and Washington, D.C. This is her first novel.

From the Hardcover edition.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Book-A-Holick, April 15, 2012 (view all comments by Book-A-Holick)
This book was a magical read! The way Marianne descibed the Thorne Rooms, it felt as if you were five inches tall and visiting the rooms yourself. I finished it within about a day after I started reading, I just couldn't put it down! I just got the second book today, and I can't wait to finish it. Anyone who reads The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures will want to emmerse themselves in history to lear more about where Jack and Ruthie traveled! I hope there will be more books to come in these enchanting, magical, historical adventures!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375857119
Author:
Malone, Marianne
Publisher:
Yearling Books
Illustrator:
Call, Greg
Author:
Call, Greg
Author:
Hicks, Deron R.
Author:
Geyer, Mark Edward
Author:
Fineberg, Marianne
Subject:
Art/Architecture
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Size
Subject:
Art (painting sculpture artists architecture etc.)
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
fantasy;chicago;magic;mystery;miniatures;art;fiction;adventure;art institute of chicago;dollhouses;history;friendship;young adult;museum;museums;time travel;children s
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
The Shakespeare Mysteries
Publication Date:
20110431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
7.63 x 5.13 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Circles of Heck #03: Blimpo: The...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Queen of Destruction (Super DC Heroes) New Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Little Monster (I'm Going to Read!... New Trade Paper $3.95
  4. Eloise Throws a Party!... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Sealed with a Kiss (Step Into... Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Art » General
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

The Sixty-Eight Rooms New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Yearling Books - English 9780375857119 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Another globe-spinning literary mystery awaits as Colophon Letterford's quest to uncover Shakespeare's secrets takes her back to his puzzling roots in this thrilling sequel to Secrets of Shakespeare's Grave.
 
"Synopsis" by ,
Colophon Letterfords life changed overnight when she uncovered Shakespeares lost manuscripts. Now the authenticity of those manuscripts is in question and the family publishing business is in danger. In this exciting mystery, thirteen-year-old Colophon travels from Oxfords lofty Tower of the Five Orders to the dank depths of Londons sewers in her pursuit of truth and honor. But the stakes are high. Budding cryptologists, Shakespeare fans, and mystery lovers alike will revel in the twists and turns of this fascinating middle grade sequel to Secrets of Shakespeares Grave.
"Synopsis" by , US
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.