Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
5 Local Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers
10 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers

This title in other editions

The Warriors

by

The Warriors Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The remarkable new suspense novel from the man “who has been there and done that” (W. E. B. Griffin)—“Fans of Clancy and Coonts need to add Young to their must-read lists” (Booklist).

Lieutenant Colonel Michael Parson has seen plenty of action lately, so he’s happy with his new assignment as safety officer at a Kyrgyzstan air base. It’s a pretty laidback way to spend the next year.

Or so he thought. On his second day, a C-27 crashes on the runway with a load of electronic gear—and opium. Recruiting his battle companion Sergeant Major Sophia Gold as interpreter, he investigates not only the crash but the source of the cargo, and the answers they find will lead them into a conflict as lethal as any they have known.

A new Balkan war is brewing, driven by a man of ruthless ambition. Parson himself flew during the wars in Bosnia and Kosovo, so he’s known their horror firsthand. But neither he nor Gold has seen anything like what’s about to happen now.

Review:

"Young's fourth novel featuring Air Force Lt. Col. Michael Parson and ex-Army translator Sophia Gold is a terrific addition to what has become an exemplary series. Stationed at Manas Air Base in Kyrgyzstan, Parson is acting as the base safety officer when an Afghan Air Force C-27 crashes on landing. What seems to be an unfortunate accident caused by a downdraft becomes vastly more complicated when a cargo of opium is discovered. Parson calls in his friend Gold, who's now working in Afghanistan for the United Nations as a civilian, to help him with the investigation, and soon the two are swept up in a much bigger plot to restart the Bosnian War. Young handles all the military thriller logistics like a seasoned pro, getting his likable heroes in and out of trouble, but it's his superior writing that elevates this book above most of the others in this crowded subgenre. Agent: Michael Carlisle, Inkwell Management. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Lieutenant Colonel Michael Parsons newest assignment is a welcome change of pace. Manas Air Base in Kyrgyzstan is a major stopover for planes in and out of Afghanistan, but his new job as safety officer is a pretty laid-back way to spend the next year. Or so he thought.

A C-27 crashes on the runway, its fuselage packed with electronic gear—and raw opium. Recruiting Sergeant Major Sophia Gold as interpreter, Parson must investigate not only what caused the crash, but who supplied its cargo. And the answers they find lead to a nightmarish revelation.

A new Balkan war is brewing, driven by a man of ruthless ambition. Parson himself flew during the wars in Bosnia and Kosovo, so he knows their horrors firsthand. But neither he nor Gold has seen anything like whats about to happen now.

Synopsis:

Estimated time of arrival: Never...When a terrorist bombing strikes a police training center in Kabul, Afghanistan, many are killed. The wounded, including Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, are loaded onto a C-5 Galaxy bound for Germany. But after takeoff, aircraft commander Michael Parson receives a message: the jihadists have placed bombs on planes leaving Afghanistan—and his is one of them. They are trapped in the air. And if they descend, they will die.

As the air­craft deteriorates and the patients grow worse, Parson, Gold, and the crew are pushed to the breaking point—and their biggest challenge has yet to show itself.

For the enemy is already closer than any of them can dare to imagine…

About the Author

At the time of his retirement as a senior master sergeant in 2013, Tom Young had logged nearly five thousand hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, and elsewhere. His military honors include three Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He retired from the Air National Guard in 2013.
���
He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll. Young lives in Alexandria, Virginia.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399158476
Author:
Young, Tom
Publisher:
Putnam Adult
Author:
Young, To
Author:
M
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
War
Subject:
Popular Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20130731
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
none
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Military
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Series Adventures

The Warriors New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Putnam Adult - English 9780399158476 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Young's fourth novel featuring Air Force Lt. Col. Michael Parson and ex-Army translator Sophia Gold is a terrific addition to what has become an exemplary series. Stationed at Manas Air Base in Kyrgyzstan, Parson is acting as the base safety officer when an Afghan Air Force C-27 crashes on landing. What seems to be an unfortunate accident caused by a downdraft becomes vastly more complicated when a cargo of opium is discovered. Parson calls in his friend Gold, who's now working in Afghanistan for the United Nations as a civilian, to help him with the investigation, and soon the two are swept up in a much bigger plot to restart the Bosnian War. Young handles all the military thriller logistics like a seasoned pro, getting his likable heroes in and out of trouble, but it's his superior writing that elevates this book above most of the others in this crowded subgenre. Agent: Michael Carlisle, Inkwell Management. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Lieutenant Colonel Michael Parsons newest assignment is a welcome change of pace. Manas Air Base in Kyrgyzstan is a major stopover for planes in and out of Afghanistan, but his new job as safety officer is a pretty laid-back way to spend the next year. Or so he thought.

A C-27 crashes on the runway, its fuselage packed with electronic gear—and raw opium. Recruiting Sergeant Major Sophia Gold as interpreter, Parson must investigate not only what caused the crash, but who supplied its cargo. And the answers they find lead to a nightmarish revelation.

A new Balkan war is brewing, driven by a man of ruthless ambition. Parson himself flew during the wars in Bosnia and Kosovo, so he knows their horrors firsthand. But neither he nor Gold has seen anything like whats about to happen now.

"Synopsis" by ,

Estimated time of arrival: Never...When a terrorist bombing strikes a police training center in Kabul, Afghanistan, many are killed. The wounded, including Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, are loaded onto a C-5 Galaxy bound for Germany. But after takeoff, aircraft commander Michael Parson receives a message: the jihadists have placed bombs on planes leaving Afghanistan—and his is one of them. They are trapped in the air. And if they descend, they will die.

As the air­craft deteriorates and the patients grow worse, Parson, Gold, and the crew are pushed to the breaking point—and their biggest challenge has yet to show itself.

For the enemy is already closer than any of them can dare to imagine…

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.