Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 5, 2015

    Tim Johnston: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Songs for Not Sleeping by Tim Johnston



    I once told a medical-profession-type lady that I didn't sleep well, that I awoke all through the night and was awake for hours. "What do you do... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General
3 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction

This title in other editions

Schizo

by

Schizo Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The fascinating, shocking, and ultimately quite hopeful story of one teens downward spiral into mental illness by the bestselling author of Tweak.

Miles is the ultimate unreliable narrator—a teen recovering from a schizophrenic breakdown who believes he is getting better . . . when in reality he is growing worse.

 

Driven to the point of obsession to find his missing younger brother, Teddy, and wrapped up in a romance that may or may not be the real thing, Miles is forever chasing shadows. As Miles feels his world closing around him, he struggles to keep it open, but what you think you know about his world is actually a blur of gray, and the sharp focus of reality proves startling.

 

Written by the New York Times bestselling author of Tweak, Schizo is the fascinating, and ultimately quite hopeful, story of one teen's downward spiral into mental illness as he chases the clues to a missing brother. Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Its Kind of a Funny Story.

 

“This spare book is a well-written, but painful, read, as readers come to understand the hopelessness Miles feels about his life and his future.”—VOYA 

 

“In his first novel, memoirist Sheff (Tweak) provides an insightful perspective on one teens struggle with mental illness.”—Publishers Weekly

 

Review:

"Sixteen-year-old Miles has been diagnosed with schizophrenia, and he explains to readers that he had his first delusion on the same day that his younger brother, Teddy, disappeared from a San Francisco beach. While Teddy is presumed to have drowned, Miles believes a witness who claims he was kidnapped and becomes obsessed with the idea that 'Teddy is out there. It's up to me to bring him home.' After Miles flushes his pills, the voices in the head take him down a dangerous, self-destructive path. In his first novel, memoirist Sheff (Tweak) provides an insightful perspective on one teen's struggle with mental illness, including the challenges of finding the right medications to treat his condition. Sheff's spare writing style, combined with descriptions of San Francisco's foggy skies and Miles's own neglected home that 'lets in water when it rains,' creates a mood of isolation and desperation that permeates the story. While the ending wraps up a bit neatly with a rather cinematic revelation, it also provides a welcome note of hope after Miles's hard-fought quest for peace. Ages 14 — up. Agent: Amanda Urban, ICM. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Hailed as a "work of art" by the New York Times, this bestselling classic brings a deft touch and understanding spirit to the story of a teenage girl's descent into madness-and the three friends who are determined to walk with her where adults fear to tread.

About the Author

"I always wanted to be a writer. I started writing early, and badly, sending off short stories to national magazines when I was ten or eleven. They were all returned.

"But I kept at it. All through high school and college. Everything I sent out came back. Thanks but no thanks.

"I moved to New York and worked in a publishing house. I kept writing. In fact, I was fired from my first job for spending more time on my own projects than on the publishing house's.

"I wrote on.

"In 1968, an editor from a small California publishing house and I had lunch. She gave me an outline for a story she thought I could write well. I knew immediately I had to try.

"But what I wanted to do was write a short book, full of emotion and detail and excitement, for readers of all ages. I didn't know that Edgar Allan would be regarded as a children's book. "It was.

"And when it was, everything fell into place. The minute Edgar Allan was launched successfully, I sat down to write Lisa, Bright And Dark. It, too, was a success so there was no turning back. Although I do write books for adults, the ideas that stimulate me always seem to come to me in the form of a story for young readers. I get ideas from everywhere: from the newspapers, from radio, from lunches and talks I have with friends.

"Right now, if I never get another idea, I have more story lines to work on than my lifetime probably permits."

Both Edgar Allan and Lisa, Bright And Dark, were selected as among the Best Books of the Year by the New York Times. Lisa, Bright And Dark was filmed for television, and aired as a Hallmark Hall of Fame on NBC-TV. Mr. Neufeld's other books have as recently as this spring (2000) been cited as among the best of last year's Young Adult titles by the New York Public Library and YASLA.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399164378
Author:
Sheff, Nic
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Author:
Crouch, Michael
Author:
Neufeld, John
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Maze Runner
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
    New Trade Paper $10.00
  3. Willow Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Eleanor and Park
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  5. Divergent (Divergent Trilogy #1)
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Go Ask Alice
    Used Mass Market $2.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Health » Diseases
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Depression and Mental Illness
Young Adult » General

Schizo New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.99 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Philomel Books - English 9780399164378 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Sixteen-year-old Miles has been diagnosed with schizophrenia, and he explains to readers that he had his first delusion on the same day that his younger brother, Teddy, disappeared from a San Francisco beach. While Teddy is presumed to have drowned, Miles believes a witness who claims he was kidnapped and becomes obsessed with the idea that 'Teddy is out there. It's up to me to bring him home.' After Miles flushes his pills, the voices in the head take him down a dangerous, self-destructive path. In his first novel, memoirist Sheff (Tweak) provides an insightful perspective on one teen's struggle with mental illness, including the challenges of finding the right medications to treat his condition. Sheff's spare writing style, combined with descriptions of San Francisco's foggy skies and Miles's own neglected home that 'lets in water when it rains,' creates a mood of isolation and desperation that permeates the story. While the ending wraps up a bit neatly with a rather cinematic revelation, it also provides a welcome note of hope after Miles's hard-fought quest for peace. Ages 14 — up. Agent: Amanda Urban, ICM. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

Hailed as a "work of art" by the New York Times, this bestselling classic brings a deft touch and understanding spirit to the story of a teenage girl's descent into madness-and the three friends who are determined to walk with her where adults fear to tread.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.