The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer

Coming Soon!

Preorder
$16.99
New Hardcover
Available May 05, 2015
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Children's- Historical Fiction- Military and War

The Sound of Life and Everything

by

The Sound of Life and Everything Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical—until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes.

But the boy is not her cousin—hes Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do whats right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverends talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love. 

About the Author

Krista Van Dolzer (motherwrite.blogspot.com) is a stay-at-home mom by day and a children's author by naptime. She holds degrees in Mathematics Education and Economics from Brigham Young University. She enjoys watching college football and researching her ancestors. This is her first book. Krista lives with her husband and three kids in Mesquite, Nevada. Follow her on Twitter: @kristavandolzer

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399167751
Author:
Van Dolzer, Krista
Publisher:
Putnam Publishing Group
Author:
Krista Van Dolzer
Subject:
Children s-Historical Fiction-Military and War
Subject:
Historical - Military & Wars
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20150531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 10

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Historical Fiction » Military and War
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction

The Sound of Life and Everything New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 Backorder
Product details 272 pages Putnam Publishing Group - English 9780399167751 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.