Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z
19 Local Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers
16 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers

Gideon's Corpse

by and

Gideon's Corpse Cover

ISBN13: 9780446564380
ISBN10: 0446564389
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A top nuclear scientist goes mad and takes an innocent family hostage at gunpoint, killing one and causing a massive standoff.

A plume of radiation above New York City leads to a warehouse where, it seems, a powerful nuclear bomb was assembled just hours before.

Sifting through the evidence, authorities determine that the unthinkable is about to happen: in ten days, a major American city will be vaporized by a terrorist attack.

Ten days. And Gideon Crew, tracking the mysterious terrorist cell from the suburbs of New York to the mountains of New Mexico, learns the end may be something worse — far worse — than mere Armageddon.

Review:

"Fans of Preston and Child's bestselling Aloysius Pendergast novels (Relic, etc.) may want to take a pass on the unremarkable second Gideon Crew thriller (after 2011's Gideon's Sword), whose lead could be cut-and-pasted into any number of books by less gifted genre writers. A rare medical disorder has left Crew, a private contractor for the shadowy Effective Engineering Solutions, with just 11 months to live, but he can't resist an opportunity to defuse a hostage situation in Queens. The hostage-taker, Reed Chalker, had worked with Crew at Los Alamos, and the FBI hopes Crew can calm Chalker, who believes the government is beaming rays into his head. The resolution of the standoff leads to fears that Chalker provided a weapons-grade nuclear core to Islamic terrorists. The unexciting action sequences that follow, including a duel with chain saws, fall well short of the authors' usual high standard. Agent: Eric Simonoff at William Morris Endeavor." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

A top nuclear scientist turns homicidal, taking an innocent family hostage at gunpoint. Gideon Crew, a colleague of his at Los Alamos, is called in to talk the man down. But the standoff ends in an explosion of violence. When the authorities discover the scientist's body is intensely radioactive, and that he had recently embraced Islamic extremism, all hell breaks loose. Gideon finds himself charged with a desperate assignment to track down a rogue nuclear device... or something even worse.

About the Author

The thrillers of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child "stand head and shoulders above their rivals" (Publisher's Weekly). Coauthors of the famed Pendergast series, their books Relic and The Cabinet of Curiosities were chosen by readers in a National Public Radio poll as being among the 100 greatest thrillers ever written, and Relic was made into a number one box office hit movie. They are also the authors of Fever Dream, Cold Vengeance and Gideon's Sword.

Preston's acclaimed nonfiction book, The Monster of Florence, is being made into a movie starring George Clooney. His interests include horses, scuba diving, skiing, mountain climbing, and exploring the Maine coast in an old lobster boat. Lincoln Child is a former book editor who has published four novels of his own, including the huge bestseller Deep Storm. He is passionate about motorcycles, sports cars, exotic parrots, and nineteenth-century English literature. Readers can sign up for The Pendergast File, a monthly "strangely entertaining note" from the authors, at their website, www.prestonchild.com. The authors welcome visitors to their alarmingly active Facebook page, where they post regularly.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Roberta Maghouin, November 8, 2012 (view all comments by Roberta Maghouin)
NaNoLoMo #6

Gideon's Corpse by Douglas Preston,  Lincoln Child
Vision (2012), Edition: Reprint, Mass Market Paperback, 480 pages

**no spoilers**

Gideon's Corpse reintroduces us to Gideon Crew, a man with a past and very little future. If you haven't read Gideon's Sword it's okay ��" you'll pick up in short order, though some of the early character interactions will make a little more sense if you have. The book also leaves a number of loose ends dangling ��" there will be forthcoming Gideon Crew books from these authors.

Preston & Child write in their usual high definition style. There are a lot of sneaky details that are completely credible; as someone who has spent some time around Los Alamos National Laboratory and the Jemez wilderness I can follow the action in my minds' eye and know exactly where things are happening.

The bio/techno/terrorist premise is scary. It's truly frightening to think what a small group of terrorists might conceive of if not for the real life vigilance of the men and women protecting our country's Weapons of Mass Destruction. Fast paced and gripping, this is a story that can get inside your head and make you sit up and take notice of your surroundings.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780446564380
Author:
Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child
Publisher:
Vision
Author:
Preston, Douglas J.
Author:
Preston, Douglas
Author:
Child, Lincoln
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Publication Date:
20120931
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Language:
English

Other books you might like

  1. They're Watching Used Mass Market $6.95
  2. Blood Lies (Rogue Warrior) Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

» Featured Titles » New Arrivals
» Featured Titles » Popular Fiction
» Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
» Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Featured Titles
» Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
» Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Gideon's Corpse New Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details pages Vision - English 9780446564380 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Fans of Preston and Child's bestselling Aloysius Pendergast novels (Relic, etc.) may want to take a pass on the unremarkable second Gideon Crew thriller (after 2011's Gideon's Sword), whose lead could be cut-and-pasted into any number of books by less gifted genre writers. A rare medical disorder has left Crew, a private contractor for the shadowy Effective Engineering Solutions, with just 11 months to live, but he can't resist an opportunity to defuse a hostage situation in Queens. The hostage-taker, Reed Chalker, had worked with Crew at Los Alamos, and the FBI hopes Crew can calm Chalker, who believes the government is beaming rays into his head. The resolution of the standoff leads to fears that Chalker provided a weapons-grade nuclear core to Islamic terrorists. The unexciting action sequences that follow, including a duel with chain saws, fall well short of the authors' usual high standard. Agent: Eric Simonoff at William Morris Endeavor." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , A top nuclear scientist turns homicidal, taking an innocent family hostage at gunpoint. Gideon Crew, a colleague of his at Los Alamos, is called in to talk the man down. But the standoff ends in an explosion of violence. When the authorities discover the scientist's body is intensely radioactive, and that he had recently embraced Islamic extremism, all hell breaks loose. Gideon finds himself charged with a desperate assignment to track down a rogue nuclear device... or something even worse.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and eBooks — here at Powells.com.