Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | November 20, 2014

    Ron Rash: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Ron Rash



    Describe your latest book/project/work. Something Rich and Strange is a collection of selected stories, including three stories previously... Continue »
    1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
11 Local Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers
14 Remote Warehouse Mystery- General

More copies of this ISBN

Expatriates: A Novel of the Coming Global Collapse

by

Expatriates: A Novel of the Coming Global Collapse Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Read James Wesley, Rawles's posts on the Penguin Blog

In the vein of Sam Sheridan's The Disaster Diaries, a comprehensive guide to preparing for the apocalypse! 

With the recent economic crisis, formerly unimaginable scenarios have become terrifyingly real possibilities- learn how to prepare for the worst

Global financial collapse, a terrorist attack, a natural catastrophe-all it takes is one event to disrupt our way of life. We could find ourselves facing myriad serious problems from massive unemployment to a food shortage to an infrastructure failure that cuts off our power or water supply. If something terrible happens, we won't be able to rely on the government or our communities. We'll have to take care of ourselves.

In How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It, James Rawles, founder of SurvivalBlog.com, clearly explains everything you need to know to protect yourself and your family in the event of a disaster-from radical currency devaluation to a nuclear threat to a hurricane. Rawles shares essential tactics and techniques for surviving completely on your own, including how much food is enough, how to filter rainwater, how to protect your money, which seeds to buy for your garden, why goats are a smart choice for livestock, and how to secure your home. It's the ultimate guide to total preparedness and self-reliance in a time of need.

Synopsis:

***NATIONAL BESTSELLER***

Book 4 of The Survivalist Series

They survived the collapse, but can they survive the aftermath?

Morgan Carter has weathered the weeks after the collapse of the nations power grid, reuniting with his family and ensuring their safety, but his struggle isn't over yet. Carter must focus on survival in an increasingly unstable society—but the challenges he faces are beyond his wildest imagination.

Meanwhile, the enclosed quarters of the nearby government-run refugee camp make for an environment where injury, assault and murder are the norm. As Jess creates trouble within the camp, Sarge and his crew plot to take down the entire establishment.

From the author of the hit Survivalist Series books, Forsaking Home is an action-packed adventure that depicts the harrowing possibilities of a world gone awry, and the courage it takes to protect what matters most.

Synopsis:

What would you do to survive?

Young Gordon Van Zandt valued duty and loyalty to country above all, so after 9/11, he dropped out of college and joined the Marine Corps. This idealism vanished one fateful day in a war-torn city in Iraq. Ten years later, he is still struggling with the ghosts of his past when a new reality is thrust upon him and his family: North America, Europe and the Far East have all suffered a devastating Super-EMP attack, which causes catastrophic damage to the nations power grid and essential infrastructures. Everything from cell phones to cars to computers cease to function, putting society at a standstill.

With civilization in chaos, Gordon must fight for the limited and fast dwindling resources. He knows survival requires action and cooperation with his neighbors, but as the days wear on, so does all sense of civility within his community—and so he must make some of the most difficult decisions of his life in order to ensure his familys safety. 

For readers of Going Home by  A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, Lucifers Hammer by Jerry Pournelle and One Second After by William Forstchen.

About the Author

James Wesley, Rawles is the founder of SurvivalBlog.com. A former U.S. Army Intelligence officer and technical writer, he is the author of the novel Patriots.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780525953906
Author:
Rawles, James Wesley
Publisher:
Dutton Books
Author:
James Wesley Rawles
Author:
Hopf, G. Michael
Author:
American, A.
Subject:
Personal & Practical Guides
Subject:
Adventure
Subject:
Popular Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
The New World Series
Publication Date:
20131031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.35 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The New Western Garden Book: The...
    New Trade Paper $34.95
  2. World War Z: An Oral History of the...
    Used Mass Market $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Expatriates: A Novel of the Coming Global Collapse New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Dutton Books - English 9780525953906 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
***NATIONAL BESTSELLER***

Book 4 of The Survivalist Series

They survived the collapse, but can they survive the aftermath?

Morgan Carter has weathered the weeks after the collapse of the nations power grid, reuniting with his family and ensuring their safety, but his struggle isn't over yet. Carter must focus on survival in an increasingly unstable society—but the challenges he faces are beyond his wildest imagination.

Meanwhile, the enclosed quarters of the nearby government-run refugee camp make for an environment where injury, assault and murder are the norm. As Jess creates trouble within the camp, Sarge and his crew plot to take down the entire establishment.

From the author of the hit Survivalist Series books, Forsaking Home is an action-packed adventure that depicts the harrowing possibilities of a world gone awry, and the courage it takes to protect what matters most.

"Synopsis" by ,
What would you do to survive?

Young Gordon Van Zandt valued duty and loyalty to country above all, so after 9/11, he dropped out of college and joined the Marine Corps. This idealism vanished one fateful day in a war-torn city in Iraq. Ten years later, he is still struggling with the ghosts of his past when a new reality is thrust upon him and his family: North America, Europe and the Far East have all suffered a devastating Super-EMP attack, which causes catastrophic damage to the nations power grid and essential infrastructures. Everything from cell phones to cars to computers cease to function, putting society at a standstill.

With civilization in chaos, Gordon must fight for the limited and fast dwindling resources. He knows survival requires action and cooperation with his neighbors, but as the days wear on, so does all sense of civility within his community—and so he must make some of the most difficult decisions of his life in order to ensure his familys safety. 

For readers of Going Home by  A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, Lucifers Hammer by Jerry Pournelle and One Second After by William Forstchen.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.