Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside GN- GRAPHIC NOVELS

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

by

The Rime of the Modern Mariner Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem.

Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Mariner is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch — thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.

Hayes’s visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem’s enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man’s thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Mariner will appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

Review:

"The updating of a literary classic is always fraught with peril — which could be why so many authors prefer to create their own offshoots (Sena Naslund's Ahab's Wife). But Hayes's startlingly fresh and innovative take on Coleridge's 'Rime of the Ancient Mariner' could be studied as an example of how to modernize a classic without pretending to supplant the original. Hayes turns Coleridge's 1797 apocalyptic epic into an ecological warning, wherein a careless litterbug of a businessman is accosted by a sailor with burning eyes and a tale of woe. Part of the story mirrors Coleridge's (a carelessly murdered bird brings damnation upon the crusty mariner's vessal), but the atmospherics are more charged with the dangers of modernity. This mariner's boat is trapped in a floating archipelago of fouled plastic garbage (much like the real one, the size of a country, which swirls today in the Pacific), which mutely rebukes the viewpoint of the businessman and his 'world detached of consequence.' Hayes is a political cartoonist, and his writing isn't nearly as memorable as his illustrations, which convey the beauty of the world and the pity of its destruction with a gorgeous brand of vehemence. His panels, awash in light blues, swoop and flow like aquatic woodcuts of an earlier era." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670025800
Author:
Hayes, Nick
Publisher:
Viking Books
Subject:
Criticism
Subject:
Geography
Subject:
Graphic Novels-Literary
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20121031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Alternative
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Literary

The Rime of the Modern Mariner Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.00 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Viking Books - English 9780670025800 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The updating of a literary classic is always fraught with peril — which could be why so many authors prefer to create their own offshoots (Sena Naslund's Ahab's Wife). But Hayes's startlingly fresh and innovative take on Coleridge's 'Rime of the Ancient Mariner' could be studied as an example of how to modernize a classic without pretending to supplant the original. Hayes turns Coleridge's 1797 apocalyptic epic into an ecological warning, wherein a careless litterbug of a businessman is accosted by a sailor with burning eyes and a tale of woe. Part of the story mirrors Coleridge's (a carelessly murdered bird brings damnation upon the crusty mariner's vessal), but the atmospherics are more charged with the dangers of modernity. This mariner's boat is trapped in a floating archipelago of fouled plastic garbage (much like the real one, the size of a country, which swirls today in the Pacific), which mutely rebukes the viewpoint of the businessman and his 'world detached of consequence.' Hayes is a political cartoonist, and his writing isn't nearly as memorable as his illustrations, which convey the beauty of the world and the pity of its destruction with a gorgeous brand of vehemence. His panels, awash in light blues, swoop and flow like aquatic woodcuts of an earlier era." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.