Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$34.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
9 Local Warehouse Biography- General
6 Remote Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Baseball General

American Jews & America's Game: Voices of a Growing Legacy in Baseball

by

American Jews & America's Game: Voices of a Growing Legacy in Baseball Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Most fans donand#8217;t know how far the Jewish presence in baseball extends beyond a few famous players such as Greenberg, Rosen, Koufax, Holtzman, Green, Ausmus, Youkilis, Braun, and Kinsler. In fact, that presence extends to the baseball commissioner Bud Selig, labor leaders Marvin Miller and Don Fehr, owners Jerry Reinsdorf and Stuart Sternberg, officials Theo Epstein and Mark Shapiro, sportswriters Murray Chass, Ross Newhan, Ira Berkow, and Roger Kahn, and even famous Jewish baseball fans like Alan Dershowitz and Barney Frank.and#160;

The life stories of these and many others, on and off the field, have been compiled from nearly fifty in-depth interviews and arranged by decade in this edifying and entertaining work of oral and cultural history. In American Jews and Americaand#8217;s Game each person talks about growing up Jewish and dealing with Jewish identity, assimilation, intermarriage, future viability, religious observance, anti-Semitism, and Israel. Each tells about being in the midst of the colorful pantheon of players who, over the past seventy-five years or more, have made baseball what it is. Their stories tell, as no previous book has, the history of the larger-than-life role of Jews in Americaand#8217;s pastime.

About the Author

“This book of intimate and revealing conversations with Jews who care passionately about baseball is a surprise and delight. . . . In the tradition of Studs Terkel, Ruttmans warm and folksy style lets us feel like were in the room with them as they share their thoughts and feelings about Judaism, baseball, and life. Its a great read. Ruttman has a gift for bringing people out and the results are fabulous.”—Rabbi Rebecca T. Alpert, associate professor of religion at Temple University and author of Out of Left Field: Jews and Black Baseball

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803264755
Author:
Ruttman, Larry
Publisher:
University of Nebraska Press
Author:
Abramowitz, Martin
Author:
Selig, Allan H.
Subject:
Baseball - History
Subject:
Biography - General
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
75 photographs, 2 drawings
Pages:
544
Dimensions:
10 x 7 in

Related Subjects

Biography » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Jewish Studies
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Baseball » General

American Jews & America's Game: Voices of a Growing Legacy in Baseball New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$34.95 In Stock
Product details 544 pages University of Nebraska Press - English 9780803264755 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.