Dr Seuss Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



    Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

The Symptoms of My Insanity

by

The Symptoms of My Insanity Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

When you're a hypochondriac, there are a million different things that could be wrong with you, but for Izzy, focusing on what could be wrong might be keeping her from dealing with what's really wrong.

I almost raised my hand, but what would I say? "Mr. Bayer, may I please be excused? I'm not totally positive, but I think I might have cancer." No way. Then everyone at school would know, and they would treat me differently, and I would be known as "Izzy, that poor girl who diagnosed herself with breast cancer during biology."

But Izzy's sense of humor can only get her so far when suddenly her best friend appears to have undergone a personality transplant, her mother's health takes a turn for the worse, and her beautiful maybe-boyfriend is going all hot and cold. Izzy thinks she's preparing for the worst-case scenario, but when the worst-case scenario actually hits, it's a different story altogether--and there's no tidy list of symptoms to help her through the insanity.

Review:

"Izzy struggles with boys who make rude comments about her curvy shape and a critical mother who tells her 'your body delivers a very specific message, whether you want it to or not.' She has other problems, too, including her mother's cancer, an important art scholarship deadline, and cute but confusing Blake, who makes her wonder if she's his 'Art Friend or Girlfriend.' Izzy's problems come to a head when Blake takes a revealing photo of her, which quickly goes viral at school; at the same time, Izzy's mother has to have emergency surgery and may die. Izzy finally expresses her feelings, both face-to-face and through her art. Despite Izzy's lovably neurotic nature, readers may tire of tracking the overwhelming number of problems in her life, especially when some of these problems, like her hypochondria, seem scripted to make a point ('If I was sick... Mom could concentrate on something about me that's potentially fixable'). Even so, readers will likely appreciate a refreshing upheaval of mean-girl stereotypes when the other girls at school come up with a creative solution to at least one of Izzy's problems. Ages 12 — up. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

Synopsis:

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who won't admit she's sick, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and . . . a date with an out-of-her league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But when a viral text reveals her basketball player crush to be a very different sort of player and her mother's health takes a turn for the worse, Izzy loses her way. Fortunately an unexpected and hilarious show of solidarity from the female student body allows Izzy the space to figure herself out. A laugh-out-loud, bittersweet coming-of-age tale told in a totally true, totally teen voice.

About the Author

Mindy Raf is a writer, comedienne, and musician who has written for VH1's Best Night Ever, WABC Radio, and CollegeHumor.com. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, and this is her first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803732414
Author:
Raf, Mindy
Publisher:
Dial Books
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Children s-Health Stories-Diseases
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Related Subjects

Children's » Health » Diseases
Children's » Humor
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » General

The Symptoms of My Insanity Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Dial Books - English 9780803732414 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Izzy struggles with boys who make rude comments about her curvy shape and a critical mother who tells her 'your body delivers a very specific message, whether you want it to or not.' She has other problems, too, including her mother's cancer, an important art scholarship deadline, and cute but confusing Blake, who makes her wonder if she's his 'Art Friend or Girlfriend.' Izzy's problems come to a head when Blake takes a revealing photo of her, which quickly goes viral at school; at the same time, Izzy's mother has to have emergency surgery and may die. Izzy finally expresses her feelings, both face-to-face and through her art. Despite Izzy's lovably neurotic nature, readers may tire of tracking the overwhelming number of problems in her life, especially when some of these problems, like her hypochondria, seem scripted to make a point ('If I was sick... Mom could concentrate on something about me that's potentially fixable'). Even so, readers will likely appreciate a refreshing upheaval of mean-girl stereotypes when the other girls at school come up with a creative solution to at least one of Izzy's problems. Ages 12 — up. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

"Synopsis" by ,
Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who won't admit she's sick, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and . . . a date with an out-of-her league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But when a viral text reveals her basketball player crush to be a very different sort of player and her mother's health takes a turn for the worse, Izzy loses her way. Fortunately an unexpected and hilarious show of solidarity from the female student body allows Izzy the space to figure herself out. A laugh-out-loud, bittersweet coming-of-age tale told in a totally true, totally teen voice.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.