Mega Dose
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



    Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$23.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
5 Burnside Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
6 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Cloud Atlas (Modern Library)

by

Cloud Atlas (Modern Library) Cover

ISBN13: 9780812994711
ISBN10: 081299471x
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Newly added to the Modern Library, this edition makes Cloud Atlas available in hardcover for the very first time. A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite.... Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter.... From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life.... And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Review:

“[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.” The New York Times Book Review

Review:

“Wildly entertaining...a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.” People

Review:

“One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is — and should be — read by any student of contemporary literature.” Dave Eggers

Review:

“The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet — not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.” Michael Chabon

Review:

Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.” The Washington Post Book World

Review:

“Thrilling....One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.” Boston Sunday Globe

Review:

“Grand and elaborate...[Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.” Los Angeles Times

About the Author

David Mitchell is the author of the international bestseller The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, named a best book of the year by Time, The Washington Post, Financial Times, The New Yorker, The Globe and Mail, and The New York Times; Black Swan Green, which was selected as one of the 10 Best Books of the Year by Time; Cloud Atlas, which was a Man Booker Prize finalist; Number9Dream, which was short-listed for the Man Booker as well as the James Tait Black Memorial Prize; and Ghostwritten, awarded the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for best book by a writer under thirty-five and short-listed for the Guardian First Book Award. Hailed as “the novelist who’s being showing us the future of fiction” by The Washington Post, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. He lives in Ireland.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 18 comments:

LAL, October 22, 2014 (view all comments by LAL)
I really liked the unique format of this book with nested stories in a pyramid form (1,2,3,4,5,6,5,4,3,2,1). Each of the stories from the character's POV was very different and brought something special to the story. Highly recommend this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
techeditor, May 7, 2014 (view all comments by techeditor)

For the last couple of years I've heard so much praise for CLOUD ATLAS that I'm ashamed to admit: it didn't impress me. The writing is superb, but Mitchell's stories didn't hook me.

I deserve an A for perserverence. I read every word. One chapter in particular, was a chore.

I used Cliff's-Notes-type writeups to help me understand what others find so desirable in this book. OK, so now I get it. But that doesn't make me like it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
ernsign, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by ernsign)
Difficult reads often yield greater rewards. This is a complex book, it includes six loosely connected stories. Each story takes place in a different era, with different characters, and each is told in a distinct voice and style. Only one story is told without interruption. I considered putting this book down when it seemed to demanding. But having persevered, I am grateful to author David Mitchell for crafting an awe-inspiring, magnificent opus. The characters are incredibly well defined, and the plots are compelling. I will read this book again, and I recommend it to others.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 18 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780812994711
Author:
Mitchell, David
Publisher:
Modern Library
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20121131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
8.24 x 5.61 x 1.38 in 1.42 lb

Other books you might like

  1. What to Wear for the Rest of Your... Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Novelization
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Cloud Atlas (Modern Library) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$23.00 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Modern Library - English 9780812994711 Reviews:
"Review" by , “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”
"Review" by , “Wildly entertaining...a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”
"Review" by , “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is — and should be — read by any student of contemporary literature.”
"Review" by , “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet — not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”
"Review" by , Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”
"Review" by , “Thrilling....One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”
"Review" by , “Grand and elaborate...[Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.