Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 5, 2014

    William Gibson: IMG William Gibson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$19.60
List price: $28.00
Sale Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
17 Airport Featured Titles- Staff Favorites
20 Beaverton Featured Titles- Staff Favorites
3 Beaverton Film and Television- Biography
1 Beaverton Featured Titles- Literature
12 Beaverton NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTION
24 Burnside Film and Television- Production Biographies
63 Burnside Featured Titles- Staff Favorites
8 Burnside ORANGE- 519/ENDCAP519EndCap
30 Hawthorne Featured Titles- Staff Favorites
4 Hawthorne Film and Television- Actor Biographies
25 Local Warehouse Biography- Entertainment and Performing Arts
75 Local Warehouse NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTION
25 Remote Warehouse Humor- Anthologies

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

by

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" Cover

ISBN13: 9780812994995
ISBN10: 081299499x
All Product Details

 


New Favorite

Staff Pick

Lena Dunham has no filter, and it's hard not to love her for it. Here we get an entire book of her charming blend of unapologetic strangeness and deadpan humor. Fans will find out just how much of her past work is autobiographical, and if you're not a fan, Dunham may just win you over with this book.
Recommended by Renee P., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham — the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls — as one of the brightest and most original writers working today.

“If I could take what I’ve learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine was worthwhile. I’m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you, but also my future glory in having stopped you from trying an expensive juice cleanse or thinking that it was your fault when the person you are dating suddenly backs away, intimidated by the clarity of your personal mission here on earth. No, I am not a sexpert, a psychologist, or a dietician. I am not a mother of three or the owner of a successful hosiery franchise. But I am a girl with a keen interest in having it all, and what follows are hopeful dispatches from the frontlines of that struggle.”

Review:

"It's not Lena Dunham's candor that makes me gasp. Rather, it's her writing — which is full of surprises where you least expect them. This is a fine, subversive book." David Sedaris

Review:

"Always funny, sometimes wrenching, these essays are a testament to the creative wonder that is Lena Dunham." Judy Blume

Review:

"Dunham's writing is just as smart, honest, sophisticated, dangerous, and charming as her work on Girls. Its essential quality is a kind of joyful super-awareness: of herself, the world, the human. Reading her makes you glad to be in the world, and glad that she's in it with you." George Saunders

Review:

"Very few women have become famous for being who they actually are, nuanced and imperfect. When honesty happens, it's usually couched in self-ridicule or self-help. Dunham doesn't apologize like that — she simply tells her story as if it might be interesting. The result is shocking and radical because it is utterly familiar. Not That Kind of Girl is hilarious, artful, and staggeringly intimate; I read it shivering with recognition." Miranda July

About the Author

Lena Dunham is the creator of the critically acclaimed HBO series Girls, for which she also serves as executive producer, writer, and director. She has been nominated for eight Emmy awards and has won two Golden Globes, including Best Actress, for her work on Girls. She was the first woman to win the Directors Guild of America award for directorial achievement in comedy. Dunham has also written and directed two feature-length films (including Tiny Furniture in 2011) and is a frequent contributor to The New Yorker. She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Anna Chapman, October 21, 2014 (view all comments by Anna Chapman)
Not that Kind of Girl is an exceptional piece of literature. Diving into Dunham's quirky mind is like allowing every thought you ever had to be fully excepted and honored. In this book you will laugh, sigh, nervously laugh again, and then cry. She is brave, honest and full of experience. Its not everyday that a public figure of our generation exposes the truth and pain that we all experience in our lifetime with such a quippy whit. I couldn't put the book down once I started, its so relatable... its almost un-relatable. Although the book is made up of essays they flow brilliantly, saving the best for last, you wont want to miss this magical collection of soulful experience.

“When I was nine, I wrote a vow of celibacy on a piece of paper and ate it.”

- Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" by Lena Dunham
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
tommequilts, October 21, 2014 (view all comments by tommequilts)
Insightful, funny, and (sometimes painfully) honest, Lena Dunham's essays are a great read. It was such fun to hear her read a couple of her essays, and have a conversation with Carrie Brownstein about things that matter. Thanks for bringing her to town!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780812994995
Subtitle:
A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"
Author:
Dunham, Lena
Publisher:
Random House
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Humor-Anthologies
Publication Date:
20140930
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.54 x 5.79 x 1.24 in 1.02 lb

Other books you might like

  1. This Changes Everything: Capitalism...
    New Trade Paper $16.99
  2. The Paying Guests
    Used Hardcover $19.95
  3. Bad Feminist
    New Trade Paper $15.99
  4. Women in Clothes
    New Trade Paper $30.00
  5. Girl's Best Friend (Maggie Brooklyn... Used Hardcover $5.95
  6. Shades of London #01: The Name of...
    Sale Trade Paper $5.98

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Actors » Biographies
Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Biographies
Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Production » Biographies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
Biography » Entertainment and Performing Arts
Biography » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » New Arrivals » Nonfiction
Featured Titles » New Favorites » Nonfiction
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Featured Titles » Staff Picks

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" Sale Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.60 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Random House - English 9780812994995 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Lena Dunham has no filter, and it's hard not to love her for it. Here we get an entire book of her charming blend of unapologetic strangeness and deadpan humor. Fans will find out just how much of her past work is autobiographical, and if you're not a fan, Dunham may just win you over with this book.

"Review" by , "It's not Lena Dunham's candor that makes me gasp. Rather, it's her writing — which is full of surprises where you least expect them. This is a fine, subversive book."
"Review" by , "Always funny, sometimes wrenching, these essays are a testament to the creative wonder that is Lena Dunham."
"Review" by , "Dunham's writing is just as smart, honest, sophisticated, dangerous, and charming as her work on Girls. Its essential quality is a kind of joyful super-awareness: of herself, the world, the human. Reading her makes you glad to be in the world, and glad that she's in it with you."
"Review" by , "Very few women have become famous for being who they actually are, nuanced and imperfect. When honesty happens, it's usually couched in self-ridicule or self-help. Dunham doesn't apologize like that — she simply tells her story as if it might be interesting. The result is shocking and radical because it is utterly familiar. Not That Kind of Girl is hilarious, artful, and staggeringly intimate; I read it shivering with recognition."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.