It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
16 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody

by

I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An inventory of the General Security headquarters in central Baghdad reveals an obscure manuscript. Written by a young man in detention, the prose moves from prison life, to adolescent memories, to frightening hallucinations, and what emerges is a portrait of life in Saddam Hussein’s Iraq.

In the tradition of Kafka’s The Trial or Orwell’s 1984, I’jaam offers insight into life under an oppressive political regime and how that oppression works. This is a stunning debut by a major young Iraqi writer-in-exile.

Sinan Antoon has been published in leading international journals and has co-directed About Baghdad, an acclaimed documentary about Iraq under US occupation.

Review:

"This is an imagining not only of one writer's imprisonment in a specific country, but of the ways in which governments try to imprison thought itself. . . . The excellent translation, which copes even with the puns, can itself be understood as a work of a distinctive voice: sharp, grimly humorous, humane, a compelling spokesman for the silenced." —The Edinburgh Review

Synopsis:

A risky and risqué prison memoir depicts the collective nightmare of life under Saddam.

About the Author

Sinan Antoon was born in Baghdad, Iraq. After the 1991 Gulf War, he left Iraq and settled in the US where he studied Arabic Literature at Georgetown and Harvard. His poems and essays (Arabic and English) have been published in leading journals and newspapers in the Arab world, as well as The Nation, al-Ahram Weekly and Middle East Report.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780872864573
Author:
Antoon, Sinan
Publisher:
City Lights Books
Translator:
Johnson, Rebecca C.
Author:
Antun, Sinan
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20070631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
168
Dimensions:
7.3 x 5 x 0.4 in 4.5 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Baby Animals New Board Book $5.95
  2. Music of Life Used Trade Paper $13.95
  3. The Laws Field Guide to the Sierra...
    Used Trade Paper $17.50
  4. Straight Up or on the Rocks: The...
    New Trade Paper $16.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine

I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 168 pages City Lights Books - English 9780872864573 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This is an imagining not only of one writer's imprisonment in a specific country, but of the ways in which governments try to imprison thought itself. . . . The excellent translation, which copes even with the puns, can itself be understood as a work of a distinctive voice: sharp, grimly humorous, humane, a compelling spokesman for the silenced." —The Edinburgh Review
"Synopsis" by ,
A risky and risqué prison memoir depicts the collective nightmare of life under Saddam.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.