Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

spacer

On Order

$34.99
New Compact Disc
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Business- General

Crash Course: The American Automobile Industry's Road from Glory to Disaster

by

Crash Course: The American Automobile Industry's Road from Glory to Disaster Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This is the epic saga of the American automobile industry's rise and demise, a compelling story of hubris, denial, missed opportunities, and self-inflicted wounds that culminates with the president of the United States ushering two of Detroit's Big Three car companies—once proud symbols of prosperity—through bankruptcy. The cost to American taxpayers topped $100 billion—enough to buy every car and truck sold in America in the first half of 2009. With unprecedented access, Pulitzer Prize winner Paul Ingrassia takes us from factory floors to small-town dealerships to Detroit's boardrooms to the inner sanctums of the White House. He reveals why President Barack Obama personally decided to save Chrysler when many of his advisors opposed the idea. Ingrassia provides the dramatic story behind Obama's dismissal of General Motors CEO Rick Wagoner and the angry reaction from GM's board—the same people who had watched idly while the company plunged into penury.

In Crash Course, Ingrassia answers the big questions: Was Detroit's self-destruction inevitable? What were the key turning points? Why did Japanese automakers manage American workers better than the American companies themselves did? Ingrassia also describes dysfunctional corporate cultures (even as GM's market share plunged, the company continued business as usual) and Detroit's perverse system of "inverse layoffs" (which allowed union members to invoke seniority to avoid work). Along the way we meet Detroit's frustrated reformers and witness the wrenching decisions that Ford executives had to make to avoid GM's fate.

Informed by Ingrassia's twenty-five years of experience covering the auto industry for the Wall Street Journal, and showing an appreciation for Detroit's profound influence on our country's society and culture, Crash Course is a uniquely American and deeply instructive story, one not to be missed.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of James Stewart's Disney War and Michael Lewis's Liar's Poker comes journalist Paul Ingrassia with the inside track on the meltdown of the American automobile industry.

About the Author

As the former Detroit bureau chief for the Wall Street Journal, Paul Ingrassia speaks with authority and confidence about the automotive industry. In 1993, he won the Pulitzer Prize for his reporting on the management crisis and boardroom revolt at General Motors. Ingrassia has chronicled the car industry's successes and epic failures over the past twenty-five years, and as a former executive of Dow Jones, he is one of the few authors who has been trained as a journalist and has direct experience in running a business. His is in demand on many media programs, including NPR's Morning Edition and The Diane Rehm Show; CNBC's Squawk Box; ABC World News with Charles Gibson; and Good Morning America. An AudioFile Earphones Award winner and Audie Award finalist, Patrick Lawlor is also an accomplished stage actor, director, and combat choreographer. His recent audio includes the New York Times bestseller The Last True Story I'll Ever Tell (Tantor). "Lawlor is masterful." —The Philadelphia Inquirer

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400115105
Author:
Ingrassia, Paul
Publisher:
Tantor Media Inc
Read by:
Lawlor, Patrick Girard
Read:
Lawlor, Patrick Girard
Author:
Lawlor, Patrick
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
Industries - Automobile Industry
Subject:
Business - General
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Edition Description:
Unabridged,Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20100131
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.3 x 6.4 x 1.1 in 0.6 lb
Media Run Time:
750

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » History and Biographies
Transportation » Automotive » General

Crash Course: The American Automobile Industry's Road from Glory to Disaster New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$34.99 Backorder
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781400115105 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of James Stewart's Disney War and Michael Lewis's Liar's Poker comes journalist Paul Ingrassia with the inside track on the meltdown of the American automobile industry.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.