25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs



    As a kid, I read for two reasons: the first, and most common, was to escape from my everyday life by imagining a different one — to read about... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer

On Order

$19.99
New MP3 CD
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Psychology- Cognitive Science

Gut Feelings: The Intelligence of the Unconscious

by

Gut Feelings: The Intelligence of the Unconscious Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Gerd Gigerenzer is one of the researchers of behavioral intuition responsible for the science behind Malcolm Gladwell's bestseller Blink. Gladwell showed us how snap decisions often yield better results than careful analysis. Now, Gigerenzer explains why our intuition is such a powerful decision-making tool.

Drawing on a decade of research at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Gigerenzer demonstrates that our gut feelings are actually the result of unconscious mental processes—processes that apply rules of thumb that we've derived from our environment and prior experiences. The value of these unconscious rules lies precisely in their difference from rational analysis—they take into account only the most useful bits of information rather than attempting to evaluate all possible factors. By examining various decisions we make—how we choose a spouse, a stock, a medical procedure, or the answer to a million-dollar game show question—Gigerenzer shows how gut feelings not only lead to good practical decisions but also underlie the moral choices that make our society function.

In the tradition of Blink and Freakonomics, Gut Feelings is an exploration of the myriad influences and factors (nature and nurture) that affect how the mind works, grounded in cutting-edge research and conveyed through compelling real-life examples.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Blink and Freakonomics, Gut Feelings is an exploration of the myriad influences and factors (nature and nurture) that affect how the mind works, grounded in cutting-edge research and conveyed through compelling real-life examples.

About the Author

Gerd Gigerenzer is Director of the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Berlin. He is coeditor (with Reinhard Selten) of "Bounded Rationality: The Adaptive Toolbox" (MIT Press, 2001).

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400155057
Author:
Gigerenzer, Gerd
Publisher:
Tantor Audio
Read by:
Hill, Dick
Read:
Hill, Dick
Narrated by:
Hill, Dick
Narrated:
Hill, Dick
Author:
Hill, Dick
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
Cognitive Psychology
Subject:
Psychology-Cognitive Science
Subject:
General Psychology & Psychiatry
Edition Description:
Unabridged,MP3 - Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20070931
Binding:
MP3 CD
Language:
English
Dimensions:
7.4 x 5.3 x 0.6 in 0.2 lb

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science

Gut Feelings: The Intelligence of the Unconscious New Mp3 Cd
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.99 Backorder
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781400155057 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Blink and Freakonomics, Gut Feelings is an exploration of the myriad influences and factors (nature and nurture) that affect how the mind works, grounded in cutting-edge research and conveyed through compelling real-life examples.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.