The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies

by

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies Cover

ISBN13: 9781416907886
ISBN10: 1416907882
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

My name is Ruby.
This book is about me.

It tells the deeply hideous story
of what happens when my mother dies
and I'm dragged three thousand miles away
from my gorgeous boyfriend, Ray,
to live in L.A. with my father,
who I've never even met
because he's such a scumbag that he
divorced my mom before I was born.
The only way I've ever even seen him
is in the movies,
since he's this megafamous actor
who's been way too busy
trying to win Oscars
to even visit me once in fifteen years.
Everyone loves my father.
Everyone but me.

Review:

"A winning portrayal of a teenage girl's loves and losses." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Ruby's voice is pitch-perfect." Bookpage

Review:

"Readers will cry as easily as they laugh at Ruby's frank observations of life in, as she calls it, Hellywood, even if they do not have teachers named Feather who make them keep a dream journal." VOYA

Review:

"YAs will love this book — for the emotional storms, for the details of life among the rich and famous, and for the basic character of Ruby — smart, responsible, resilient." KLIATT

Review:

"Ruby's story is gripping, enjoyable, and memorable." School Library Journal

Review:

"Ruby's eventual adjustment and her rapprochement with her father...will come as no surprise to readers but, hey — this is Hollywood after all, and sometimes a happy ending is exactly what we need." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

Synopsis:

My name is Ruby.

This book is about me.

It tells the deeply hideous story

of what happens when my mother dies

and I'm dragged three thousand miles away

from my gorgeous boyfriend, Ray,

to live in L.A. with my father,

who I've never even met

because he's such a scumbag that he

divorced my mom before I was born.

The only way I've ever even seen him

is in the movies,

since he's this megafamous actor

who's been way too busy

trying to win Oscars

to even visit me once in fifteen years.

Everyone loves my father.

Everyone but me.

About the Author

Sonya Sones is the author of Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy; One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies; and What My Mother Doesn't Know, the first book about Sophie and Robin. Among the honors Sonya's novels have received are the Christopher Award, the Myra Cohn Livingston Award for Poetry, and the Claudia Lewis Poetry Award, as well as several state awards voted on by teens. Sonya lives near the beach in California, but she grew up not far from where Sophie and Robin live.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 5 comments:

paralizebeauty, April 3, 2008 (view all comments by paralizebeauty)
i thought it was really good!!! i thought it ended though too quickly, its a shame, i wouldve loved to read more!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
garimaw_psit, December 12, 2007 (view all comments by garimaw_psit)
its touching .the author is successful in Purging the body by the use of a cathartic to stimulate evacuation of the bowels .feeling happy after investing my time on it...
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(12 of 15 readers found this comment helpful)
oxlyssi424xo, November 28, 2007 (view all comments by oxlyssi424xo)
this is absolutely a fabulous book to read if your a teen girl going through some hard times.
it's inspirational and deals with so many different issues that kids go through almost on a daily basis.
i've read it 3 or 4 times now.
and everytime i laugh cry and cheer for the characters in this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 5 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416907886
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Author:
Sones, Sonya
Author:
Raf, Mindy
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Social Situations - Death & Dying
Subject:
Family - Parents
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Poetry
Subject:
Fathers and daughters
Subject:
Grief
Subject:
Social Issues - Death & Dying
Subject:
Actors
Subject:
Los angeles (calif.)
Subject:
Homosexuality
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Death and Dying
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
B102
Publication Date:
October 2005
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in 6.37 oz
Age Level:
12-17

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Death and Dying
Young Adult » General

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 384 pages Simon Pulse - English 9781416907886 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "A winning portrayal of a teenage girl's loves and losses." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "Ruby's voice is pitch-perfect."
"Review" by , "Readers will cry as easily as they laugh at Ruby's frank observations of life in, as she calls it, Hellywood, even if they do not have teachers named Feather who make them keep a dream journal."
"Review" by , "YAs will love this book — for the emotional storms, for the details of life among the rich and famous, and for the basic character of Ruby — smart, responsible, resilient."
"Review" by , "Ruby's story is gripping, enjoyable, and memorable."
"Review" by , "Ruby's eventual adjustment and her rapprochement with her father...will come as no surprise to readers but, hey — this is Hollywood after all, and sometimes a happy ending is exactly what we need."
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

"Synopsis" by , My name is Ruby.

This book is about me.

It tells the deeply hideous story

of what happens when my mother dies

and I'm dragged three thousand miles away

from my gorgeous boyfriend, Ray,

to live in L.A. with my father,

who I've never even met

because he's such a scumbag that he

divorced my mom before I was born.

The only way I've ever even seen him

is in the movies,

since he's this megafamous actor

who's been way too busy

trying to win Oscars

to even visit me once in fifteen years.

Everyone loves my father.

Everyone but me.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.