Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 7, 2014

    Gigi Little: IMG Best Kids' Books of 2014



    No, I'm sorry, it's impossible. The best kids' books of 2014? The best? Can't do it. There have been entirely too many exceptional examples of the... Continue »
    1. $11.87 Sale Board Book add to wish list

      Countablock

      Christopher Franceschelli and Peskimo 9781419713743

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
7 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Biography- General
12 Local Warehouse NEWARRIVAL- NONFICTION
25 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

More copies of this ISBN

Take This Man

by

Take This Man Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Books of 2014

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of “Brando Skyhorse,” the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his “indelible storytelling” (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son’s single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic.

Review:

"Skyhorse's (The Madonnas of Echo Park) vivid and idiosyncratic family memoir traces his ongoing struggle to search for an identity and fatherly guidance amidst his entanglement in his mother's chaotic lifestyle. Spanning Skyhorse's life, the book focuses primarily on his childhood growing up Echo Park, Los Angeles, from the late 1970s through the early '90s.Skyhorse's mother split with his biological father when he was three and proceeded to shuffle through a slough of unreliable husbands (including alcoholics; ex-cons who get arrested at Disneyland; and deadbeats who steal from the boy's piggy bank) whom Skyhorse was expected to adopt immediately as fathers (and sometimes to help her seek them out) though most of them didn't stick around for very long. The only constants at home were his critical, 'mythmaking,' phone-sex operator mother (who tells her son he is Indian, though the family is Mexican, and changes his name) and brash, larger-than-life grandmother. As he grows older, Skyhorse tries to detach from his argumentative family, first by leaving for college at Stanford and later with his girlfriend to live in New York City. Skyhorse's upbringing has had lasting effects on his romantic relationships and mental health, but he manages to write about his experiences and those who shaped them with grace. By turns darkly comical and moving, this powerful memoir of a family in flux will stick with readers well after they've put it down. Agent: Susan Golomb. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Brando Skyhorse’s debut novel, The Madonnas of Echo Park, won the 2011 PEN/Hemingway Award and the Sue Kaufman Award for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Skyhorse is a graduate of Stanford University and the MFA Writers’ Workshop program at UC Irvine. He is the 2014 Jenny McKean Moore Writer-In-Washington at George Washington University.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781439170878
Author:
Skyhorse, Brando
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Subject:
Brando Skyhorse, Madonnas of Echo Park, Take this Man, Native American, Hispanic, Mexican American, cultural identity, step-father, mother, grandmother, matriarch, strong female, charismatic, quirky, dysfunctional family, phone-sex, con artist, grifter, l
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20140631
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
228.6 x 152.4 mm

Other books you might like

  1. Fourth of July Creek
    New Trade Paper $15.99
  2. The Tropic of Serpents: A Memoir by... Used Hardcover $17.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Literary
Featured Titles » Biography
Featured Titles » New Arrivals » Nonfiction
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

Take This Man New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.00 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Simon & Schuster - English 9781439170878 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Skyhorse's (The Madonnas of Echo Park) vivid and idiosyncratic family memoir traces his ongoing struggle to search for an identity and fatherly guidance amidst his entanglement in his mother's chaotic lifestyle. Spanning Skyhorse's life, the book focuses primarily on his childhood growing up Echo Park, Los Angeles, from the late 1970s through the early '90s.Skyhorse's mother split with his biological father when he was three and proceeded to shuffle through a slough of unreliable husbands (including alcoholics; ex-cons who get arrested at Disneyland; and deadbeats who steal from the boy's piggy bank) whom Skyhorse was expected to adopt immediately as fathers (and sometimes to help her seek them out) though most of them didn't stick around for very long. The only constants at home were his critical, 'mythmaking,' phone-sex operator mother (who tells her son he is Indian, though the family is Mexican, and changes his name) and brash, larger-than-life grandmother. As he grows older, Skyhorse tries to detach from his argumentative family, first by leaving for college at Stanford and later with his girlfriend to live in New York City. Skyhorse's upbringing has had lasting effects on his romantic relationships and mental health, but he manages to write about his experiences and those who shaped them with grace. By turns darkly comical and moving, this powerful memoir of a family in flux will stick with readers well after they've put it down. Agent: Susan Golomb. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.