The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | Today, 10:00am

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer

On Order

$19.99
New MP3 CD
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Children's- General

Ship Breaker

by

Ship Breaker Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Bacigalupi's novel The Windup Girl not only won the Hugo, but also the Nebula, Campbell and Locus Awards, the SF equivalent of winning the Triple Crown, plus was named one of the top ten books of last year by Time, Publishers Weekly and the Library Journal. - The Chicago Center for Literature and PhotographyIn America's Gulf Coast region, where grounded oil tankers are being broken down for parts, Nailer, a teenage boy, works the light crew, scavenging for copper wiring just to make quota?and hopefully live to see another day. But when, by luck or chance, he discovers an exquisite clipper ship beached during a recent hurricane, Nailer faces the most important decision of his life: Strip the ship for all it's worth or rescue its lone survivor, a beautiful and wealthy girl who could lead him to a better life. . . .In this powerful novel, award-winning author Paolo Bacigalupi delivers a thrilling, fast-paced adventure set in a vivid and raw, uncertain future.

Review:

"SF novelist Bacigalupi (The Windup Girl) makes a stellar YA debut with this futuristic tale of class imbalance on the Gulf Coast. Teenage Nailer scavenges ships with his crewmates, eking out a poverty-filled existence while avoiding dangers that range from giant 'city killer' hurricanes to his vicious, drug-addicted father. When a storm strands a beautiful shipping heiress on the beach (earning her the nickname 'Lucky Girl'), Nailer manages both to infuriate members of his camp (including his father) and to become embroiled in upper-class trade disputes that he barely comprehends. As Nailer and Lucky Girl escape toward the drowned ruins of New Orleans, they witness rampant class disparity on individual and international levels (tribes whose lands were flooded have taken to the seas as pirates, attacking multinational shipping firms). Bacigalupi's cast is ethnically and morally diverse, and the book's message never overshadows the storytelling, action-packed pacing, or intricate world-building. At its core, the novel is an exploration of Nailer's discovery of the nature of the world around him and his ability to transcend that world's expectations. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Although a cautionary environmental message is implicit...this is essentially a kids-on-the-lam tale with all the narrow escapes and untrustworthy alliances dear to the action crowd, and enough futuristic maritime gadgetry to lure sci-fi fans on board as well." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Synopsis:

A Nebula and Hugo Award-nominated author delivers a fast-paced dystopian adventure that is sure to appeal to fans of "Little Brother" and "The Hunger Games."

Synopsis:

Bacigalupi's novel The Windup Girl not only won the Hugo, but also the Nebula, Campbell and Locus Awards, the SF equivalent of winning the Triple Crown, plus was named one of the top ten books of last year by Time, Publishers Weekly and the Library Journal. - The Chicago Center for Literature and PhotographyIn America's Gulf Coast region, where grounded oil tankers are being broken down for parts, Nailer, a teenage boy, works the light crew, scavenging for copper wiring just to make quota?and hopefully live to see another day. But when, by luck or chance, he discovers an exquisite clipper ship beached during a recent hurricane, Nailer faces the most important decision of his life: Strip the ship for all it's worth or rescue its lone survivor, a beautiful and wealthy girl who could lead him to a better life. . . .In this powerful novel, award-winning author Paolo Bacigalupi delivers a thrilling, fast-paced adventure set in a vivid and raw, uncertain future.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781441883483
Author:
Bacigalupi, Paolo
Publisher:
Brilliance Audio
Read by:
Swanson, Joshua
Read:
Swanson, Joshua
Subject:
General
Subject:
Children s-General
Publication Date:
20101131
Binding:
MP3 CD
Language:
English

Related Subjects

» Children's » General

Ship Breaker New Mp3 Cd
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.99 Backorder
Product details pages Brilliance Audio - English 9781441883483 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "SF novelist Bacigalupi (The Windup Girl) makes a stellar YA debut with this futuristic tale of class imbalance on the Gulf Coast. Teenage Nailer scavenges ships with his crewmates, eking out a poverty-filled existence while avoiding dangers that range from giant 'city killer' hurricanes to his vicious, drug-addicted father. When a storm strands a beautiful shipping heiress on the beach (earning her the nickname 'Lucky Girl'), Nailer manages both to infuriate members of his camp (including his father) and to become embroiled in upper-class trade disputes that he barely comprehends. As Nailer and Lucky Girl escape toward the drowned ruins of New Orleans, they witness rampant class disparity on individual and international levels (tribes whose lands were flooded have taken to the seas as pirates, attacking multinational shipping firms). Bacigalupi's cast is ethnically and morally diverse, and the book's message never overshadows the storytelling, action-packed pacing, or intricate world-building. At its core, the novel is an exploration of Nailer's discovery of the nature of the world around him and his ability to transcend that world's expectations. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Although a cautionary environmental message is implicit...this is essentially a kids-on-the-lam tale with all the narrow escapes and untrustworthy alliances dear to the action crowd, and enough futuristic maritime gadgetry to lure sci-fi fans on board as well."
"Synopsis" by , A Nebula and Hugo Award-nominated author delivers a fast-paced dystopian adventure that is sure to appeal to fans of "Little Brother" and "The Hunger Games."
"Synopsis" by , Bacigalupi's novel The Windup Girl not only won the Hugo, but also the Nebula, Campbell and Locus Awards, the SF equivalent of winning the Triple Crown, plus was named one of the top ten books of last year by Time, Publishers Weekly and the Library Journal. - The Chicago Center for Literature and PhotographyIn America's Gulf Coast region, where grounded oil tankers are being broken down for parts, Nailer, a teenage boy, works the light crew, scavenging for copper wiring just to make quota?and hopefully live to see another day. But when, by luck or chance, he discovers an exquisite clipper ship beached during a recent hurricane, Nailer faces the most important decision of his life: Strip the ship for all it's worth or rescue its lone survivor, a beautiful and wealthy girl who could lead him to a better life. . . .In this powerful novel, award-winning author Paolo Bacigalupi delivers a thrilling, fast-paced adventure set in a vivid and raw, uncertain future.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.