The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
4 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers
2 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers

This title in other editions

Strange Flesh

by

Strange Flesh Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this “complex, cutting-edge debut” for fans of Neal Stephenson and The Millennium Trilogy, a troubled hacker goes undercover to locate a vanished tech prodigy and finds himself at the center of a tantalizing, high-stakes revolution in virtual reality (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Elite hacker and Harvard dropout James Pryce has received his most personal assignment yet. The woman who broke his heart ten years ago, Blythe Randall, hires him to locate her brother Billy and stop him from destroying their family’s billion-dollar media empire with his erratic and increasingly violent stunts. Billy is a multi-media artist whose obsession is “the Bleed”: the moment when real and virtual selves intersect, where actions in one life breed consequences in another. James soon learns that Billy has designed a lavish alternate reality game and seems to be recruiting players to pull off one last unimaginable real-life attack.

In the course of tracking his target’s last known whereabouts, James infiltrates GAME, a programming collective where a group of designers are at work on a top-secret invention that could revolutionize the virtual reality industry. James has to find Billy before his final plan is set in motion, but when the GAMErs invite him to their inner circle, his investigation takes a tantalizing—and much more dangerous—turn.

Synopsis:

IN THIS DEBUT THRILLER FOR FANS OF NEAL STEPHENSON AND THE MILLENNIUM TRILOGY, A TROUBLED HACKER FINDS HIMSELF AT THE CENTER OF A HIGH-STAKES REVOLUTION IN VIRTUAL REALITY.

James Pryce, a hacker at Red Rook Security in Manhattan, has just received his most personal assignment yet. Blythe Randall, the woman who broke his heart in college, has hired him to locate her missing brother, Billy, whose increasingly violent stunts threaten to bring down their family’s billion-dollar media empire. To do so, James must infiltrate Billy’s last known whereabouts: GAME, a programming collective where a group of designers are at work on a top-secret invention that promises a revolutionary advance in sexual technology. James has to find Billy before his final plan is set in motion, but when the GAMErs invite him to their inner circle, his investigation takes a tantalizingand much more dangerousturn.

About the Author

Michael Olson graduated from Harvard and worked in investment banking and software engineering before earning a master’s degree from NYU’s Interactive Technology Program, where he designed a locomotion interface for virtual environments.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451627589
Author:
Olson, Michael
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.38 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Creole Belle: A Dave Robicheaux Novel Sale Mass Market $4.98
  2. The Cut
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  3. Gone, Baby, Gone Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. The Fifth Witness
    Used Book Club Hardcover $2.95
  5. The Bayou Trilogy: Under the Bright... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  6. The Devil in the White City: Murder,...
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine

Strange Flesh New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.00 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Simon & Schuster - English 9781451627589 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , IN THIS DEBUT THRILLER FOR FANS OF NEAL STEPHENSON AND THE MILLENNIUM TRILOGY, A TROUBLED HACKER FINDS HIMSELF AT THE CENTER OF A HIGH-STAKES REVOLUTION IN VIRTUAL REALITY.

James Pryce, a hacker at Red Rook Security in Manhattan, has just received his most personal assignment yet. Blythe Randall, the woman who broke his heart in college, has hired him to locate her missing brother, Billy, whose increasingly violent stunts threaten to bring down their family’s billion-dollar media empire. To do so, James must infiltrate Billy’s last known whereabouts: GAME, a programming collective where a group of designers are at work on a top-secret invention that promises a revolutionary advance in sexual technology. James has to find Billy before his final plan is set in motion, but when the GAMErs invite him to their inner circle, his investigation takes a tantalizingand much more dangerousturn.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.