Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs

    Note: Join us at Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing on Wednesday, September 16, for an author event with Cara Nicoletti. As a kid, I read for... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list


On Order

New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Literary Criticism- General

The Collected Works of W.B. Yeats Vol II: The Plays


The Collected Works of W.B. Yeats Vol II: The Plays Cover


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Collected Works of W. B. Yeats, Volume II: The Plays is part of a fourteen-volume series under the general editorship of eminent Yeats scholars Richard J. Finneran and George Mills Harper. This complete edition includes virtually all of the Nobel laureate's published work, in authoritative texts and with extensive explanatory notes.

The Plays, edited by David R. Clark and Rosalind E. Clark, is the first-ever complete collection of Yeats's plays that honors the order in which the plays first appeared. It provides the latest and most accurate texts in Yeats's lifetime, as well as extensive editorial notes and emendations.

Though best known as one of the most important poets of the twentieth century, from the beginning of his career William Butler Yeats understood the value of his plays and his poetry to be the same. In 1923, when he accepted the Nobel Prize for Literature, Yeats suggested that "perhaps the English committees would never have sent you my name if I had written no plays...if my lyric poetry had not a quality of speech practiced on the stage." Indeed, Yeats's great achievement in poetry should not be allowed to obscure his impressive and innovative accomplishments as a dramatist.

In The Plays, David and Rosalind Clark have restored the plays to the final order in which Yeats planned for them to be published. This volume opens with Yeats's introduction for an unpublished Scribner collection and encompasses all of his dramatic work, from The Countess Cathleen to The Death of Cuchulain.

The Plays enables readers to see clearly, for the first time, the ways in which Yeats's very different dramatic forms evolved over the course of his life, and to appreciate fully the importance of drama in the oeuvre of this greatest of modern poets.

About the Author

William Butler Yeats is generally considered to be Ireland's greatest poet, living or dead, and one of the most 

important literary figures of the twentieth century. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1923. 

Table of Contents




Part One

An Introduction for My Plays 1937

The Countess Cathleen 1892

The Land of Heart's Desire 1894

Cathleen Ni Houlihan 1902

The Hour-Glass (prose) 1903

The Pot of Broth 1904

The King's Threshold 1904

On Baile's Strand 1904

Deirdre 1907

The Unicorn From The Stars 1908

The Green Helmet 1910

The Shadowy Waters 1911

The Hour-Glass (verse) 1914

Four Plays for Dancers 1921

At the Hawk's Well. 1917

The Dreaming of the Bones. 1919

The Only Jealousy of Emer. 1919

Calvary. 1920

The Player Queen 1922

Sophocles' King Oedipus 1928

Sophocles' Oedipus at Colonus 1934

Wheels and Butterflies (More Plays for Dancers) 1934

The Cat and the Moon. 1917

Fighting the Waves. 1930

The Words Upon the Window-Pane. 1930

The Resurrection. 1931

The King of the Great Clock Tower 1934

A Full Moon in March 1935

The Herne's Egg 1938

Purgatory 1939

The Death of Cuchulain 1939

Part Two: Additional Plays

Diarmuid and Grania [1901]

Where There Is Nothing [1902]


A. Yeats's Notes for the Unpublished Edition de Luxe and the Dublin Edition

Notes to Appendix A

B. Music for the Plays

Notes to Appendix B

Explanatory Notes

Textual Notes

Product Details

Yeats, William Butler
Scribner Book Company
English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Literary Criticism : General
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
8.5 x 5.5 in

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Drama » British and Irish Anthologies
Arts and Entertainment » Drama » Plays
Arts and Entertainment » Drama » Women and Ethnic
Fiction and Poetry » Anthologies » United Kingdom » Poetry
Humanities » Literary Criticism » General

The Collected Works of W.B. Yeats Vol II: The Plays New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$52.99 Backorder
Product details 960 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9781451656442 Reviews:
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.