The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer

On Order

$13.50
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Poetry- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Vagrant Grace

by

Vagrant Grace Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

David Bottoms has a breathtaking ability to capture human tenderness, vulnerability, and cruelty in the brief turn of a line. Grounded in the contemporary South, his poems often witness people in their moments of failure, as their fantasies and families collapse around them, as they weep at gravesides, as they recognize their own fading image in the bathroom mirror.

"One cannot read Bottoms without being nerve-touched by his sardonic yet compassionate country-man's voice, his hunter's irony."- James Dickey

David Bottoms' first book, Shooting Rats at the Bibb County Dump, was chosen by Robert Penn Warren as winner of the 1979 Walt Whitman Award of the Academy of American Poets. His poems have appeared widely in magazines such as The Atlantic, The New Yorker, Harper's, Poetry, and The Paris Review, as well as in numerous anthologies. He is author of several books of poetry as well as two novels. Among his other awards are the Levinson Prize, an Ingram-Merrill Award, and an Award in Literature from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. An avid guitarist and fisherman, he divides his time between Georgia and Montana.

Synopsis:

A startling, haunting new collection in the tradition of Faulkner and Dickey by the author of Armored Hearts.

Synopsis:

Poetry. Following in a rich literary tradition, David Bottoms' poems are rooted both in the details of life in the contemporary American South and in a history scorched by violence. His portrayals of human tenderness, vulnerability, and cruelty, blur the divisions between good and evil. David Bottom's necessary new book of poems — his best yet — is a work of high spiritual accomplishment...I am grateful for the way these splendid poems probe the the mysteries and enact the spirit of awe — Edward Hirsch.

Synopsis:

Bottoms has a breathtaking ability to capture human tenderness, vulnerability, and cruelty in a single line. His poems, set primarily in the American South, witness people in their moments of failure, as their fantasies and families collapse around them. Like Faulkner and Dickey, Bottoms blurs the distinction between good and evil, while exploring the violent underbelly of our national history.

About the Author

David Bottoms, Poet Laureate of Georgia, teaches at Georgia State University in Atlanta. He is the author of four books of poetry and is the founding editor of Five Points magazine. His poems have appeared in The Atlantic, The New Yorker, and Harper's. He is an avid guitar player, mandolin player, and fan of bluegrass and old-time country music.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781556591297
Author:
Bottoms, David
Publisher:
Copper Canyon Press
Location:
Port Townsend, Wash. :
Subject:
American
Subject:
American - General
Subject:
Poetry (poetic works by one author)
Subject:
Southern states
Subject:
General Poetry
Subject:
Single Author / American
Subject:
Poetry-A to Z
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
500-239
Publication Date:
19991131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
96
Dimensions:
8.4 x 5.4 x 0.4 in 5.5 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Fuel (American Poets Continuum) New Trade Paper $17.00
  2. The Known World (Wesleyan Poetry) New Trade Paper $15.25
  3. Other Lover (00 Edition) Used Trade Paper $11.00
  4. Early Grrrl: The Early Poems of... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Reluctant Gravities (99 Edition) Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z

Vagrant Grace New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.50 Backorder
Product details 96 pages Copper Canyon Press - English 9781556591297 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A startling, haunting new collection in the tradition of Faulkner and Dickey by the author of Armored Hearts.
"Synopsis" by , Poetry. Following in a rich literary tradition, David Bottoms' poems are rooted both in the details of life in the contemporary American South and in a history scorched by violence. His portrayals of human tenderness, vulnerability, and cruelty, blur the divisions between good and evil. David Bottom's necessary new book of poems — his best yet — is a work of high spiritual accomplishment...I am grateful for the way these splendid poems probe the the mysteries and enact the spirit of awe — Edward Hirsch.
"Synopsis" by , Bottoms has a breathtaking ability to capture human tenderness, vulnerability, and cruelty in a single line. His poems, set primarily in the American South, witness people in their moments of failure, as their fantasies and families collapse around them. Like Faulkner and Dickey, Bottoms blurs the distinction between good and evil, while exploring the violent underbelly of our national history.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.