It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$19.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
6 Burnside Children's- Alphabet
25 Local Warehouse Children's Nonfiction- Animals
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Picture Books- Concepts General

More copies of this ISBN

Almost an Animal Alphabet

by

Almost an Animal Alphabet Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Bruno Munari's Zoo and Andrew Zuckerman's Creature ABC, Almost an Animal Alphabet is a quirky combination of alphabet and (almost) animal book, introducing young children to the letters of the alphabet via a collection of appealingly drawn critters. With a gently humorous sensibility and a unique illustrative style, Almost an Animal Alphabet is a perfect choice for pre-readers who love animals.

• Why is it called Almost An Animal Alphabet? There are actually 21 animals, 1 extinct animal, 3 non-animals (for N, U, and X), and 1 imaginary animal (for Y--can you guess? It's a yeti.)

• Alphabet books are perennial sellers, popular with parents and as gifts--this one is distinguished by its simple, elegant style and the quirky emotional appeal of the animals   • Katie's art has a textural quality and an artisanal feeling that is enhanced by the matte paper-over-board cover of Almost an Animal Alphabet, making this a great gift for design-obsessed parents and possibly cross-over to non-parents who like the art

Review:

"Self-published in the author's native Great Britain in 2010, this A to Z bestiary enchants with expressive, painterly monoprints that either retain their charcoal-like quality or are digitally colorized. The visual diversity extends to the level of realism on each spread: a male-female pair of quails is encyclopedia-ready, while a hammerhead shark wears a tool belt. Viggers depicts several animals solo — e.g. the gorilla, koala, and tarsier — in arch, close-up portraits that convey a rich sense of each creature's personality. Subtle humor and informative tidbits animate the text: B stands not just for bears, but for all eight species of them, from sun to panda (the latter munches on alphabetically convenient bamboo). Seven types of penguins are identified by name and form a courtly tableau, with the Fjordland penguin shading the king penguin with a parasol, while an Adélie solicits an autograph and the Galapagos snaps a paparazzo photo. So, why the 'almost' of the title? It might have something to do with those 'nighttime,' 'underground,' and 'yeti' spreads, each of which is integrated seamlessly. Ages 3 — 7. (Oct.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Katie Viggers is an artist whose work combines mono printing with digital enhancing. After receiving her MA in Fine Art, she founded eightbear, Ltd., a design company that produces stationery, prints, mugs, and other products sold throughout the UK. Katie's twin passions for animals and mono printing continue to inform her distinctive style. for She lives in Nottingham, England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781576876435
Author:
Viggers, Katie
Publisher:
POW!
Subject:
Concepts - Alphabet
Subject:
Children s Nonfiction-Animals
Publication Date:
20131031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to 2
Language:
English
Illustrations:
COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT
Pages:
56
Dimensions:
9.05 x 9.01 x 0.46 in 0.9 lb
Age Level:
from 3 up to 7

Related Subjects

Children's » Activities » Humor
Children's » Alphabet
Children's » Animals » General
Children's » Concepts » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Nonfiction » Animals
Children's » Picture Books » Alphabet Books
Children's » Picture Books » Concepts General
Children's » Sale Books

Almost an Animal Alphabet New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.95 In Stock
Product details 56 pages POW! - English 9781576876435 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Self-published in the author's native Great Britain in 2010, this A to Z bestiary enchants with expressive, painterly monoprints that either retain their charcoal-like quality or are digitally colorized. The visual diversity extends to the level of realism on each spread: a male-female pair of quails is encyclopedia-ready, while a hammerhead shark wears a tool belt. Viggers depicts several animals solo — e.g. the gorilla, koala, and tarsier — in arch, close-up portraits that convey a rich sense of each creature's personality. Subtle humor and informative tidbits animate the text: B stands not just for bears, but for all eight species of them, from sun to panda (the latter munches on alphabetically convenient bamboo). Seven types of penguins are identified by name and form a courtly tableau, with the Fjordland penguin shading the king penguin with a parasol, while an Adélie solicits an autograph and the Galapagos snaps a paparazzo photo. So, why the 'almost' of the title? It might have something to do with those 'nighttime,' 'underground,' and 'yeti' spreads, each of which is integrated seamlessly. Ages 3 — 7. (Oct.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.