The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Local Warehouse Health and Medicine- Alternative
25 Remote Warehouse Health and Medicine- Alternative

Healing Secrets of the Native Americans: Herbs, Remedies, and Practices That Restore the Body, Refresh the Mind, and Rebuild the Spirit

by

Healing Secrets of the Native Americans: Herbs, Remedies, and Practices That Restore the Body, Refresh the Mind, and Rebuild the Spirit Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

- For thousands of years, Native Americans have used the bountiful gifts of nature to heal the mind, the body, and the spirit. Today, modern medicine is confirming the wisdom of these ancient healing techniques. Healing Secrets of the Native Americans brings the knowledge and these techniques to a wider audience in this clear, reliable, and beautifully packaged book.
- Discover how the Native American healing traditon uses plants and herbs, heat, movement and sound, visualization, and spirituality to heal dozens of everyday ailments and illnesses from back pain to insect bites to flu and sore throat.
- The book is broken into sections covering: The Healing Spirit (including dream therapy, spirituality and prayer), The Native American Spa (including the healing power of heat, massage, sound and movement, and nutrition) The Native American Pharmacy (including more than 40 herbs and plants, how to obtain them, and how to use them) Making it Work (remedies for more than 40 ailments).
- Unique, practical, and attractive paper-over-boards package covered in a natural, textured paper that will appeal to the aesthetics of the market. The interior has two-color ink and lovely line art throughout.
- Chinese Natural Cures (BD&L 1579120563) has sold 110,000 copies to date.
- Healing Secrets of the Native Americans (Fall, 2004), this is the launch of another successful series in the tradition of the BD&L "Satin Series" which has sold over 80,000 and includes Kama Sutra: The Perfect Bedside Companion; Yoga: The Perfect Companion; Zen: The Perfect Companion; The Book of Comfort: The Perfect Everyday Companion; I Ching: The Perfect Companion.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Black Dog and Leventhal's successful Chinese Natural Cures, Healing Secrets of the Native Americans brings the age-old knowledge and trusted techniques of Native-American healing to a wider audience. From this clear, reliable, and beautifully packaged book, learn how Native Americans have used the bountiful gifts of nature to heal the mind, the body, and the spirit. Discover how the Native-American tradition uses plants and herbs, heat, movement and sound, visualization, and spirituality to heal dozens of everyday ailments and illnesses--from back pain to insect bites to flu and sore throat and much more.

Broken into sections, the book covers such topics as "The Healing Spirit" (including dream therapy, spirituality, and prayer), "The Native American Spa" (healing with heat, massage, sound and movement, and nutrition), "The Native American Pharmacy" (including more than 40 herbs and plants, how to obtain them, and how to use them), plus remedies for more than 40 ailments from acne to wrinkles.

About the Author

Porter Shimer is a health and fitness author who has written several books on natural ways to conquer pain, lose weight, and achieve a healthier life.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781579123925
Author:
Shimer, Porter
Publisher:
Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers
Subject:
Alternative Therapies
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - Native American Studies - Spirituality
Subject:
MEDICAL / Alternative Medicine
Subject:
Naturopathy
Subject:
HEALTH and FITNESS / Healing
Subject:
BODY, MIND and SPIRIT / Healing / General
Subject:
Health and Medicine-Alternative
Subject:
HEALTH & FITNESS / Healing
Subject:
BODY, MIND & SPIRIT / Healing/General
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20040931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
217.424 x 146.05 x 924 mm

Other books you might like

  1. Herbal Antibiotics (Medicinal Herb... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. Chi Self-Massage: The Taoist Way of... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Nature's Weeds, Native Medicine New Trade Paper $10.95
  4. 1491: New Revelations of the...
    Used Book Club Paperback $7.95
  5. Animal Reiki: Using Energy to Heal... Used Trade Paper $10.95
  6. The Caddo Nation: Archaeological and... New Trade Paper $38.50

Related Subjects

Engineering » Engineering » Inventions
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Alternative
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Natural Medicine
History and Social Science » Native American » General Native American Studies
Metaphysics » General

Healing Secrets of the Native Americans: Herbs, Remedies, and Practices That Restore the Body, Refresh the Mind, and Rebuild the Spirit New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers - English 9781579123925 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Black Dog and Leventhal's successful Chinese Natural Cures, Healing Secrets of the Native Americans brings the age-old knowledge and trusted techniques of Native-American healing to a wider audience. From this clear, reliable, and beautifully packaged book, learn how Native Americans have used the bountiful gifts of nature to heal the mind, the body, and the spirit. Discover how the Native-American tradition uses plants and herbs, heat, movement and sound, visualization, and spirituality to heal dozens of everyday ailments and illnesses--from back pain to insect bites to flu and sore throat and much more.

Broken into sections, the book covers such topics as "The Healing Spirit" (including dream therapy, spirituality, and prayer), "The Native American Spa" (healing with heat, massage, sound and movement, and nutrition), "The Native American Pharmacy" (including more than 40 herbs and plants, how to obtain them, and how to use them), plus remedies for more than 40 ailments from acne to wrinkles.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.