25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 24, 2015

    Ellen Urbani: IMG Like Every Other Survivor



    I have an uncommon penchant for aligning myself with disaster and death. Tornadoes and wildfires and armed guerrillas have chased me. Riptides... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Landfall

      Ellen Urbani 9780988265776

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
16 Local Warehouse Communications- Telephony
25 Remote Warehouse Business- Writing

More copies of this ISBN

The Smartphone: Anatomy of an Industry

by

The Smartphone: Anatomy of an Industry Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

We think we know everything about our smartphones. We use them constantly. We depend on them for every conceivable purpose. We are familiar with every inch of their compact frames. But there is more to the smartphone than meets the eye.

How have smartphones shaped the way we socialize and interact? Who tracks our actions, our preferences, our movements as recorded by our smartphones? These are just some of the questions that journalist Elizabeth Woyke answers in this muckraking exposé of the $241 billion industry that produces more than 700 million devices each year.

In the tradition of The Coffee Book, The Sneaker Book, Oil, and Cigarettes, The Smartphone offers not only a step-by-step guide to how smartphones are designed and manufactured but also a bold exploration of the darker side of this massive industry, including the exploitation of labor, the disposal of electronic waste, and the underground networks that hack and smuggle smartphones.

Featuring interviews with key figures in the development of the smartphone and expert assessments of the industrys main players—Apple, Google, Microsoft, and Samsung—The Smartphone is the perfect introduction to this most personal of gadgets. Your smartphone will never look the same again.

Book News Annotation:

Woyke, a journalist who covers the telecommunications and mobile industry, surveys the smartphone industry and its history since the 1970s. Subjects explored are the key players (Apple, Google, Microsoft, and Samsung), the smartphone wars between companies, carriers, and developers, how smartphones are designed, waste issues in terms of prices and constant phone replacement, health concerns, privacy issues, and future trends. Annotation ©2015 Ringgold, Inc., Portland, OR (protoview.com)

Synopsis:

We think we know everything about our smartphones. We use them constantly. We depend on them for every conceivable purpose. We are familiar with every inch of their compact frames. But there is more to the smartphone than meets the eye.

How have smartphones shaped the way we socialize and interact? Who tracks our actions, our preferences, our movements as recorded by our smartphones? To what lengths will phone manufacturers and mobile operating systems go to protect their profits? And who is part of the underground networks that smuggles, hacks, and knocks off smartphones and why? These are just some of the questions that journalist Elizabeth Woyke answers in this muckraking exposé of this $241 billion industry that delivers more than 700 million devices each year.

In the tradition of The Coffee Book, The Sneaker Book, Oil, and Cigarettes, The Smartphone Book is a smart, lucid, and startling introduction to a seemingly familiar feature of our day-to-day lives. Not only will it leave readers with a greater understanding of how these devices operate, but it will also inspire them to make this massive industry operate in their favor.

About the Author

Elizabeth Woyke has covered the telecom and mobile industry since 2007. A former Businessweek and Forbes staff writer, she has also written for Money and Time Asia. In 2011, she was voted a top twenty "Smart Mobile Pundit" by readers. She has appeared on the BBC and other news broadcasts to comment on technology. Woyke lives in New York.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781595589637
Author:
Woyke, Elizabeth
Publisher:
New Press
Subject:
Business Writing
Subject:
Communications-Telephony
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20140931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Writing
Computers and Internet » Computers Reference » Social Aspects » Human and Computer Interaction
Computers and Internet » Internet » General
Computers and Internet » Internet » Information
Computers and Internet » Networking » Computer Security
Engineering » Communications » Telephony
Science and Mathematics » History of Science » Technology
Science and Mathematics » Popular Science » Computer Science

The Smartphone: Anatomy of an Industry New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages New Press - English 9781595589637 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
We think we know everything about our smartphones. We use them constantly. We depend on them for every conceivable purpose. We are familiar with every inch of their compact frames. But there is more to the smartphone than meets the eye.

How have smartphones shaped the way we socialize and interact? Who tracks our actions, our preferences, our movements as recorded by our smartphones? To what lengths will phone manufacturers and mobile operating systems go to protect their profits? And who is part of the underground networks that smuggles, hacks, and knocks off smartphones and why? These are just some of the questions that journalist Elizabeth Woyke answers in this muckraking exposé of this $241 billion industry that delivers more than 700 million devices each year.

In the tradition of The Coffee Book, The Sneaker Book, Oil, and Cigarettes, The Smartphone Book is a smart, lucid, and startling introduction to a seemingly familiar feature of our day-to-day lives. Not only will it leave readers with a greater understanding of how these devices operate, but it will also inspire them to make this massive industry operate in their favor.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.