Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer

On Order

$34.95
New Compact Disc
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

A Friend of the Family

by

A Friend of the Family Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Pete Dizinoff has spent years working toward a life that would be, by all measures, deemed successful. A skilled internist, he's built a thriving practice in suburban New Jersey. He has a devoted wife, a network of close friends, and an impressive house, and most important, he has a son, Alec, on whom he's pinned all his hopes. Pete has afforded Alec every opportunity, bailed him out of close calls with the law, and even ensured his acceptance into a good college.

But Pete never counted on the wild card: Laura, his best friend's daughter--ten years older than Alec, irresistibly beautiful, with a past so shocking that it's never spoken of. When Laura sets her sights on Alec, Pete sees his plans for his son not just unraveling but being destroyed completely. Believing he has only the best of intentions, he sets out to derail this romance and rescue his son. He could never have foreseen how his whole world would shatter in the process.

Lauren Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm,American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

Review:

"There are grave consequences when Pete Dizinoff, a successful doctor, tries to keep his son from being seduced by Laura, a possible murderess and the daughter of Pete's best friend. Grodstein's superb second novel is a deft portrayal of suburban life, and Adamson more than does justice to the fine material in his tour-de-force performance. With his ability to shift from pathos to restraint, he creates realistically layered characters that grip readers from the start and linger long after the finish. An Algonquin hardcover (Reviews, Jul. 6). (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

A riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

Synopsis:

When Pete Dizinoff's prodigal son gets mixed up with the wrong girl, Pete will go to any length to end the romance. A riveting story in the tradition of "The Ice Storm" and "American Beauty," "A Friend in the Family" charts a father's staggering fall from grace.

About the Author

RICK ADAMSON's voiceover credits include industrials and commercials for radio, television, and audiobook recordings, including The Secret and Younger Next Year.

LAUREN GRODSTEIN is the author of three previous works of fiction, most recently the New York Times bestselling novel A Friend of the Family, which was a Washington Post Best Book Pick, a New York Times Editor’s Pick, a BookPage

Product Details

ISBN:
9781598879438
Author:
Grodstein, Lauren
Publisher:
Highbridge Company
Read by:
Adamson, Rick
Read:
Adamson, Rick
Author:
Adamson, Rick
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
General Fiction
Edition Description:
Unabridged,Unabridged; 9 hours
Publication Date:
20091131
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
6.04x5.20x1.16 in. .54 lbs.
Media Run Time:
555

Other books you might like

  1. Telegraph Avenue
    Sale Mass Market $6.98

Related Subjects

Audio Books » Fiction and Poetry » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

A Friend of the Family New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$34.95 Backorder
Product details pages Highbridge Company - English 9781598879438 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "There are grave consequences when Pete Dizinoff, a successful doctor, tries to keep his son from being seduced by Laura, a possible murderess and the daughter of Pete's best friend. Grodstein's superb second novel is a deft portrayal of suburban life, and Adamson more than does justice to the fine material in his tour-de-force performance. With his ability to shift from pathos to restraint, he creates realistically layered characters that grip readers from the start and linger long after the finish. An Algonquin hardcover (Reviews, Jul. 6). (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , A riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.
"Synopsis" by , When Pete Dizinoff's prodigal son gets mixed up with the wrong girl, Pete will go to any length to end the romance. A riveting story in the tradition of "The Ice Storm" and "American Beauty," "A Friend in the Family" charts a father's staggering fall from grace.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.