Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Painter of Silence

Painter of Silence Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It is the early 1950s. A nameless man is found on the steps of the hospital in Iasi, Romania. He is deaf and mute, but a young nurse named Safta recognizes him from the past and brings him paper and pencils so that he might draw. Gradually, memories appear on the page: The man is Augustin, son of the cook at the manor house that was Saftas family home. Born six months apart, they had grown up with a connection that bypassed words, but while Augustins world stayed the same size, Saftas expanded to embrace languages, society, and a fleeting love one long, hot summer. But then came war, and in its wake a brutal Stalinist regime, and nothing would remain the same.

Georgina Hardings kaleidoscopic new novel will appeal to readers of Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, and Sándor Márai. Beautiful, spare, and intense, it captures the loss and the hope of a tragic time through the extraordinary vision of a mute outsider.

Synopsis:

Shortlisted for the Orange Prize, an intimate and devastating portrait of Eastern Europe during and after WWII, and the story of an utterly original friendship.

About the Author

Georgina Harding is the author of the novels The Spy Game and The Solitude of Thomas Cave. She lives in London and the Stour Valley, Essex.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781620402436
Subtitle:
A Novel
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Author:
Harding, Georgina
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20131217
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25197 x 5.51181 in 1 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Painter of Silence
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781620402436 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Shortlisted for the Orange Prize, an intimate and devastating portrait of Eastern Europe during and after WWII, and the story of an utterly original friendship.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.