Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Nest: The Art of Birds

Nest: The Art of Birds Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Part natural history, part folklore, part exploration of art and aesthetics, part memoir, a beautiful book that will appeal to bird lovers, readers of literature, and art lovers

As an amateur naturalist and nature lover, Janine Burke, art historian and author, has spent many years observing birds. Here is the story of her passion, a personal, wide-ranging, and intimate book that will appeal to all those who love nature, literature, and art. What are nests if not art created by nature? If a nest is not art, how can we account for those exquisite, painstakingly, constructed creations that are decorated, or woven through with feathers, or studded with objects of a particular color or sheen? This book reveals both the art and mystery found in nature and celebrates them with lyricism, insight, and great affection. In the tradition of Longitude, Cod, or The Cello Suites, this memoir is also a short education that encompasses celebration and theory, investigation and memoir, the familiar and the revelatory—as surprising and enticing as any beautiful, intricately constructed nest.

About the Author

Janine Burke is an art historian, biographer, novelist, and curator. Her novel Company of Images was shortlisted for both the Age Book of the Year award and the Miles Franklin. She is also the author of The Sphinx on the Table.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781742378299
Subtitle:
The Art of Birds
Publisher:
Allen & Unwin Australia
Author:
Burke, Janine
Subject:
Nature Studies-Birds
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20130401
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
184
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in 1 lb

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Military » General History
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Birds » Birdwatching
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Birds » General
Science and Mathematics » Ornithology » Behavior Courtship and Nesting
Science and Mathematics » Ornithology » General Ornithology and Birding

Nest: The Art of Birds
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 184 pages Allen & Unwin Australia - English 9781742378299 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.