25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Burnside SF- H

More copies of this ISBN

The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter

by

The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The city is crumbling... Clouds over Nowy Solum have not parted in a hundred years. Gods have deserted their temples. In the last days of a dying city, the decadent chatelaine chooses a forbidden lover, separating twin outcasts and setting them on independent trajectories that might finally bring down the palace. Then, screaming from the skies, a lone god reappears, briefly, and a limbless prophet is carried through South Gate, into Nowy Solum, with a message for all: beyond the city, something ancient and monumental has come awake

Review:

"In this ambitious novel, Hayward (Filaria) traces the lives of the eccentric, often grotesque characters who inhabit the ancient, labyrinthine city of Nowy Solum. The aging chatelaine devotes more time to her multiple sexual partners and her pets than to the city she rules. Her father, the castellan, amuses himself by torturing sentient animals. The fecund, a monstrous being imprisoned in the city's depths, philosophizes and bears equally monstrous children for the chatelaine's cages. When the chatelaine upsets the social order by taking in Octavia, an ostracized child born with syruplike melancholy in her veins rather than blood, she begins a slow cascade of events that sends the city hurtling toward destruction. Beautifully written and morally ambivalent, this complex tale will appeal to readers of Gene Wolfe and China Miéville. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781926851136
Author:
Hayward, Brent
Publisher:
Chizine Publications
Subject:
General-General
Publication Date:
20110531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Gothic
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Urban Life
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Travel » General

The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details pages Chizine Publications - English 9781926851136 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this ambitious novel, Hayward (Filaria) traces the lives of the eccentric, often grotesque characters who inhabit the ancient, labyrinthine city of Nowy Solum. The aging chatelaine devotes more time to her multiple sexual partners and her pets than to the city she rules. Her father, the castellan, amuses himself by torturing sentient animals. The fecund, a monstrous being imprisoned in the city's depths, philosophizes and bears equally monstrous children for the chatelaine's cages. When the chatelaine upsets the social order by taking in Octavia, an ostracized child born with syruplike melancholy in her veins rather than blood, she begins a slow cascade of events that sends the city hurtling toward destruction. Beautifully written and morally ambivalent, this complex tale will appeal to readers of Gene Wolfe and China Miéville. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.