Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
10 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
15 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Spurious

by

Spurious Cover

ISBN13: 9781935554288
ISBN10: 193555428x
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In a raucous debut that summons up Britain's fabled Goon Squad comedies, writer and philosopher Lars Iyer tells the story of someone very like himself with a "slightly more successful" friend and their journeys in search of more palatable literary conferences and better gin. One reason for their journeys: the narrator's home is slowly being taken over by a fungus that no one seems to know what to do about.

Before it completely swallows his house, the narrator feels compelled to solve some major philosophical questions (such as "Why?") and the meaning of his urge to write, as well as the source of the fungus ... before it is too late. Or, he has to move.

Review:

"Two friends drink, walk in the English countryside, and talk (and talk and talk) in Iyer's playfully cerebral debut. The action — what there is of it — revolves around an unnamed Hindu narrator and his frenemy, a mopey professor known as W., who harbors a deep insecurity, is contemptuous of the narrator, and loves Kafka. The narrator, meanwhile, lives in a rotting home that's being taken over by a creeping fungus and suffers W.'s constant tongue lashings with a resigned cheeriness as the pair muse, debate, ponder, and talk endlessly about their places in the world. Iyer finds ways to weave in contemporary cultural artifacts, from film director Bela Tarr and rock group Godspeed You Black Emperor to a range of influential European intellectuals, though it's not clear whether the narrator and W. are more yin and yang or Abbott and Costello. It's a love it or hate it book: repetitive, too much in its own head, and self-satisfied, yes; but also piquant, often hilarious, and gutsy. (Jan.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

About the Author

Lars Iyer is a lecturer in philosophy at the University of Newcastle. He is the author of two books on Blanchot (Blanchot's Communism: Art, Philosophy and the Political and Blanchot's Vigilance: Literature, Phenomenology and the Ethical) and his blog Spurious. He is also a contributor to Britain's leading literary blog, Ready, Steady, Book.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Michael Schapira, January 1, 2012 (view all comments by Michael Schapira)
One of the great joys of reading Spurious (and I use the word joy advisedly), a novel otherwise lacking in any traditional sense of plot development, is the process of heightening that occurs over the course of the book. Take the unfolding of Lars, who along with his friend and fellow academic W. are the central players in the novel. Over the course of the first 40 odd pages we learn many things about Lars (mostly through W.’s frank assessment of his character deficiencies): Lars has neither shame, nor the capacity to feel shame. He is disloyal (“’You’d break the phalanx .… You will betray me’, says W., ‘I am certain of it’). In addition to having no literary talent, we learn that Lars has no manners (“’And you’re continuously touching yourself. Look at you: you’re doing it now!’ I take my hand out of my shirt.”) And as for the body that Lars is touching: “My obesity always impresses him, W. says …. He wonders what would I be like if I didn’t go to the gym? It’s all channeled into my enormous thighs, W. says. They’re grotesque. ��" ‘You’re out of proportion!’” Whereas other friendships that W. and Lars admire (particularly that between Levinas and Blanchot) are marked by discretion, Lars is “indiscretion itself”: “There is something cosmic streaming through me. There’s a cosmic storm howling through my ignorance and my shamelessness, says W.”

There is also the issue of “the damp” taking over Lars’ apartment. “The plumber says he’s seen nothing like it…The plumber pitied me so much I had to press money on him …. He wouldn’t leave, but just stood there, looking. And even when he went out the front door, he was shaking his head. ��" ‘Howay, it’s terrible, man.’” Despite the best efforts of Lars’ heroic space heater and the desperate estimations of plumbers and surveyors, the damp sets into the apartment, forcing Lars to negotiate some sort of relationship with it. “No one understands the damp. It’s Talmudic. The damp is the enigma at the heart of everything …. The damp says: I exist, and that is all. I am that I am: so the damp. I will outlast you and outlast everything: so the damp.” A central question that might confront a reader is whether this process of heightening is leading anywhere or if it is sheer rhetorical flourish (in very capable hands, I would add). Are we to take a strong position on W.’s cruelty towards Lars or the dynamics of their friendship? Are we meant to adopt the perspective of the shopkeepers in Freiburg who “wipe the door handles after we leave and rearrange the books we looked at,” sharing in the disapproval of such reproachable creatures? Are we able to empathize with Lars and W. who are nevertheless able to remain “joyful” in their millenarian sense of their own failings?

These questions are certainly available to a reading of Spurious, and, given the gravity of the topics discussed over the course of the novel (the apocalypse, the worthiness of our intellectual pursuits, the certain demand to be entertained. Yet Iyer self-consciously places himself in the tradition of Peter Cook, Dudley Moore, and other British comics who mastered a highly developed form of satire that comes from the suspension of these questions (as opposed to just aping something familiar, which in this case is the impossibly ineffectual status in which many intellectuals find themselves). It is ultimately through this lens that you are likely to appreciate the grotesque forms that Lars and W. take through the novel. The levels of depravity and viciousness that W. is able to reach through his assessment of Lars and himself truly merit the exalted categories of cosmic, transcendental, and messianic. In this respect Iyer is right to place joy at the heart of the black humor which propels the novel forward. As Lars reports (and it has been difficult limiting my use of the sparkling, though at times acidic language of Spurious in this review): We’re full of joy, W. says as we walk back from the supermarket, that’s what saves us. Why do we find our failings so amusing? But it does save us, we agree on that; it’s our gift to the world.”

excerpted from my review of the book for full-stop.net

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781935554288
Author:
Iyer, Lars
Publisher:
Melville House Publishing
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20110331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5.5 x .49 in .3563 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Klausen Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Homage to Czerny: Studies in... New Trade Paper $12.75
  3. Varamo
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Regions of the Great Heresy: Bruno... New Trade Paper $19.95
  5. Map & the Territory Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. George Steiner at the New Yorker... Used Trade Paper $12.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Spurious New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 192 pages Melville House Publishing - English 9781935554288 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Two friends drink, walk in the English countryside, and talk (and talk and talk) in Iyer's playfully cerebral debut. The action — what there is of it — revolves around an unnamed Hindu narrator and his frenemy, a mopey professor known as W., who harbors a deep insecurity, is contemptuous of the narrator, and loves Kafka. The narrator, meanwhile, lives in a rotting home that's being taken over by a creeping fungus and suffers W.'s constant tongue lashings with a resigned cheeriness as the pair muse, debate, ponder, and talk endlessly about their places in the world. Iyer finds ways to weave in contemporary cultural artifacts, from film director Bela Tarr and rock group Godspeed You Black Emperor to a range of influential European intellectuals, though it's not clear whether the narrator and W. are more yin and yang or Abbott and Costello. It's a love it or hate it book: repetitive, too much in its own head, and self-satisfied, yes; but also piquant, often hilarious, and gutsy. (Jan.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.