Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 2, 2014

    Cary Elwes: IMG Cary Elwes: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $13.99
Used Trade Paper
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Paris Enigma

by

The Paris Enigma Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Alienist and The Devil in the White City comes a gripping, atmospheric tale of murder and the art of crime solving.

Paris, 1889: in anticipation of the World's Fair and the opening of Monsieur Eiffel's tower, a society of the world's most famous detectives convenes as a single body for the very first time. Sent in place of a conspicuously absent Renato Craig, founding member of The Twelve, his novice assistant Sigmundo Salvatrio arrives, bearing a secret message for the brilliant, brooding Viktor Arzaky, Craig's best friend and the society's cofounder. When one of The Twelve is discovered murdered at the Tower's base—the first in a series of grisly slayings—it falls to Arzaky and Salvatrio, the last remaining student of Craig's famed Academy for Detectives in Buenos Aires, to find and stop the killer. But what the two discover as they race around fin-de-siècle Paris—encountering secret societies, philosophical puzzles, and an imperiled, dangerously beautiful woman—has shattering consequences that will alter the fate of their precious brotherhood forever.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Caleb Carrs The Alienist and Eric Larsens The Devil in the White City comes The Paris Enigma, a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma features two detectives who find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de siècle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies and solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman.

About the Author

A journalist and comic-strip creator who became editorin chief of one of Argentinas leading comics magazines,Pablo De Santis is the author of six critically acclaimed novels, one work of nonfiction, and a number of books for young adults. His works have been published in more than twenty countries. He lives in Buenos Aires.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061479687
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
De Santis, Pablo
Translator:
Lethem, Mara
Author:
de Santis, Pablo
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20091208
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.02x6.80x.63 in. .43 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Friday Night Knitting Club
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. The Whiskey Rebels Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. The Lazarus Project
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. The Collected Stories Used Hardcover $14.50
  5. Ms. Hempel Chronicles
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  6. Madeleine Is Sleeping (Harvest Book)
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

The Paris Enigma Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061479687 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Caleb Carrs The Alienist and Eric Larsens The Devil in the White City comes The Paris Enigma, a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma features two detectives who find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de siècle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies and solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.