This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Required Reading | January 16, 2015

    Required Reading: Books That Changed Us



    We tend to think of reading as a cerebral endeavor, but every once in a while, it can spur action. The following books — ranging from... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Playing Away

by

Playing Away Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Connie Green's life should be perfect. She has a hot career, her wonderful husband, Luke, and a bunch of great girlfriends. But she has just met overwhelmingly sexy John at a business conference. Her head and her heart said, no way, but her traitorous body shrieked yes, YES Now Connie's deep into a tawdry affair, which is destroying her peace of mind and her grand plan for Happily Ever After. Maybe John is her destiny. After all, she's losing weight. It can't be a bad thing if she's losing weight, can it? Connie longs to confide in her girlfriends. They've always discussed their sex lives before, preferably over cocktails. But this infidelity thing makes it a trifle awkward. Connie's not quite sure what she wants. And that's exactly the trouble. A novel for every woman juggling the untidy mix of work, romance, sex, and marriage, Playing Away shimmers with equal parts comic relief and penentrating insight. Adele Parks has crafted a cunningly revealing portrait of the lives of hip, urban women, poised at the cusp of a millennium.

Synopsis:

Imagine the sexiest man you can think of: funny, disrespectful, fast, confident, irreverent. He is also completely unscrupulous. And he's about to destroy Connie's peace of mind and her plans for marital bliss, forever. What will happen when hubby Luke finds out? Connie simply doesn't know - yet.

Synopsis:

Is there no end to the demand for feisty, contemporary women's fiction, peopled with glamourous young things and impossibly- handsome-but-really-rather-sexy male protagonists? Judging by the backing for this debut novel in the tradition of Jane Green and Helen Fielding, there certainly isn't at the moment, and this tale of extra-marital derring-do is likely to be propelled into the bestsellers by a massive publicity and marketing campaign.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780140290653
Author:
PARKS, ADELE
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Parks, Adele
Location:
N
Subject:
Humor : General
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20000330
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
198 x 128 in.

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

Playing Away
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 384 pages Penguin Books - English 9780140290653 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Imagine the sexiest man you can think of: funny, disrespectful, fast, confident, irreverent. He is also completely unscrupulous. And he's about to destroy Connie's peace of mind and her plans for marital bliss, forever. What will happen when hubby Luke finds out? Connie simply doesn't know - yet.
"Synopsis" by , Is there no end to the demand for feisty, contemporary women's fiction, peopled with glamourous young things and impossibly- handsome-but-really-rather-sexy male protagonists? Judging by the backing for this debut novel in the tradition of Jane Green and Helen Fielding, there certainly isn't at the moment, and this tale of extra-marital derring-do is likely to be propelled into the bestsellers by a massive publicity and marketing campaign.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.