Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 28, 2015

    Sara Jaffe: IMG Summer Friction



    I was crying or almost crying for most of Fun Home: The Musical — I already loved Alison Bechdel's graphic novel, and I've always been a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Dryland

      Sara Jaffe 9781941040133

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Anthropology- Sub Saharan Africa

This title in other editions

The Language of the Land: Living Among the Hadzabe in Africa

by

The Language of the Land: Living Among the Hadzabe in Africa Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A rare adventure with the last Stone Age hunting and gathering tribe in Africa.

In l997 James Stephenson arranged to have almost a full year free, a year he wanted to spend among the Hadzabe in East Africa. He had visited these people several times previously and with every trip his fascination with them deepened, for the Hadzabe are the last hunters and gatherers still living a traditional life in Africa.

At the age of 27, Stephenson intended to spend the year living among the Hadzabe, and, more importantly, living their life, hunting what they hunted, eating what they ate, participating in their dances and ceremonies, consulting with their medicine men and learning their myths and dreams.

Armed only with his camera, his art supplies and the open-hearted courage of youth, he set out to visit with a people who have changed little since the Stone Age. He wanted to glimpse the world as they perceived it and learn the wisdom they had wrestled from the land. This account of his adventure and what he learned is travel writing at its best, reminiscent of the books of Peter Beard and Bruce Chatwin.

Book News Annotation:

At the age of 27 the author arranged to take a year off from his terrace gardening business in New York City to spend it with the Hadzabe in East Africa, a people said to be the last hunter-gatherers in Africa. One of many trips he had and would take, this nine-month sojourn was undertaken to document the Hadzabe with pen, camera, and art supplies—the products of all these media presented in the book.This is travel literature in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Peter Beard. No index.
Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

At age 27, the author went to live among the Hadzabe, the last Stone Age hunting and gathering tribe in Africa. He shares his experiences and the wisdom he gained from the tribe in this rare and provocative traveler's story--the subject of a Discovery Channel documentary. 67 b&w photos and drawings. of color illustrations.

About the Author

James Stephenson received his B.A. in English Literature at Ohio State University, and studied at the Rhode Island School for Design. Currently working as a landscape artist in New York City, where he designs rooftop gardens, Stephenson lives in Brooklyn and Tanzania, East Africa.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312241070
Subtitle:
Living Among the Hadzabe in Africa
Author:
Stephenson, James
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Africa
Subject:
Social life and customs
Subject:
Anthropology - Cultural
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
Hunting
Subject:
Photojournalism
Subject:
Hatsa
Subject:
Africa, east
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Publication Date:
20000915
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Includes 63 black-and-white photos and d
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9.49x7.77x.82 in. 1.51 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Looking for Lovedu: A Woman's... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. The Flame Trees of Thika: Memories...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Courting the Diamond Sow: Kayaking... Used Hardcover $3.95
  4. Catching the Light: The Entwined... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. Bay of Tigers: An African Odyssey Used Hardcover $8.95
  6. The Tree Where Man Was Born (Penguin... Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Anthropology » Sub Saharan Africa
Travel » Travel Writing » Africa and Middle East
Travel » Travel Writing » General

The Language of the Land: Living Among the Hadzabe in Africa Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages St. Martin's Press - English 9780312241070 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , At age 27, the author went to live among the Hadzabe, the last Stone Age hunting and gathering tribe in Africa. He shares his experiences and the wisdom he gained from the tribe in this rare and provocative traveler's story--the subject of a Discovery Channel documentary. 67 b&w photos and drawings. of color illustrations.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.