The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.95
List price: $7.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Humor- Narrative

Dave Barry Slept Here: A Sort of History of the United States

by

Dave Barry Slept Here: A Sort of History of the United States Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

If you love to laugh, if you love your country, if you are unaware that "the Sixth Amendment states that if you are accused of a crime, you have the right to a trial before a jury of people too stupid to get out of jury duty," Dave Barry Slept Here is the book for you. Every single momentous event and crucial movement is covered, including:

The Birthing Contractions of a Nation

Kicking Some British Butt

The Forging of a Large, Wasteful Bureaucracy

The Civil War: A Nation Pokes Itself in the Eyeball

The Fifties: Peace, Prosperity, Brain Death

The Reagan-Bush Years: Napping Toward Glory

And much more!

Synopsis:

A Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist and columnist whose growing popularity is making him the next Buchwald has his way with the "history" of the mother country, including its founding fathers. An offbeat look at the U.S. for fans of Patrick McManus and Lewis Grizzard.

About the Author

Dave Barry is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist for the Miami Herald. He is the author of numerous bestsellers, including the recent Dave Barry in Cyberspace. He lives in Miami, Florida.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345416605
Author:
Barry, Dave
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Social life and customs
Subject:
American wit and humor
Subject:
United States - General
Subject:
Form - Essays
Subject:
United States History Humor.
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Humor-Anthologies
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
19971031
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
6.78x4.13x.69 in. .28 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Without Feathers Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. Dave Barry Hits Below the Beltway Used Mass Market $1.95
  3. Fine & Pleasant Misery Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. Our Dumb Century Used Trade Paper $1.50
  5. 1745 and All That: The Story of the... New Trade Paper $14.75
  6. Zits Sketchbooks #07: Road Trip!:... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » US History » General

Dave Barry Slept Here: A Sort of History of the United States Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345416605 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist and columnist whose growing popularity is making him the next Buchwald has his way with the "history" of the mother country, including its founding fathers. An offbeat look at the U.S. for fans of Patrick McManus and Lewis Grizzard.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.