Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 4, 2014

    Fred Armisen: IMG Fred Armisen: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse General- General

Letter to My Daughter: A Novel

by

Letter to My Daughter: A Novel Cover

ISBN13: 9780345515988
ISBN10: 0345515986
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Dear Elizabeth,

It’s early morning and I’m sitting here wondering where you are, hoping you’re all right.

 

A fight, ended by a slap, sends Elizabeth out the door of her Baton Rouge home on the eve of her fifteenth birthday. Her mother, Laura, is left to fret and worry—and remember. Wracked with guilt as she awaits Liz’s return, Laura begins a letter to her daughter, hoping to convey “everything I’ve always meant to tell you but never have.”

    In her painfully candid confession, Laura shares memories of her own troubled adolescence in rural Louisiana, growing up in an intensely conservative household. She recounts her relationship with a boy she loved despite her parents’ disapproval, the fateful events that led to her being sent away to a strict Catholic boarding school, the personal tragedy brought upon her by the Vietnam War, and, finally,  the meaning of the enigmatic tattoo below her right hip.

  

  Absorbing and affirming, George Bishop’s magnificent debut brilliantly captures a sense of time and place with a distinct and inviting voice. Letter to My Daughter is a heartwrenching novel of mothers, daughters, and the lessons we all learn when we come of age.

Synopsis:

For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Bishop delivers this heart-wrenching debut aboutmothers, daughters, and lessons learned.

Synopsis:

BONUS: This edition contains a Letter to My Daughter discussion guide.

A fight, ended by a slap, sends Elizabeth out the door of her Baton Rouge home on the eve of her fifteenth birthday. Her mother, Laura, is left to fret and worry—and remember. Wracked with guilt as she awaits Liz’s return, Laura begins a letter to her daughter, hoping to convey “everything I’ve always meant to tell you but never have.” In her painfully candid confession, Laura shares memories of her own troubled adolescence in rural Louisiana, her bittersweet relationship with a boy she loved despite her parents’ disapproval, and a personal tragedy that she can never forget. An absorbing and affirming debut,Letter to My Daughteris a heartwrenching novel of mothers, daughters, and the lessons we all learn when we come of age.

Look for special features inside.

Join the Circle for author chats and more.

RandomHouseReadersCircle.com

Synopsis:

Dear Elizabeth,

It’s early morning and I’m sitting here wondering where you are, hoping you’re all right.

 

A fight, ended by a slap, sends Elizabeth out the door of her Baton Rouge home on the eve of her fifteenth birthday. Her mother, Laura, is left to fret and worry—and remember. Wracked with guilt as she awaits Liz’s return, Laura begins a letter to her daughter, hoping to convey “everything I’ve always meant to tell you but never have.”

In her painfully candid confession, Laura shares memories of her own troubled adolescence in rural Louisiana, growing up in an intensely conservative household. She recounts her relationship with a boy she loved despite her parents’ disapproval, the fateful events that led to her being sent away to a strict Catholic boarding school, the personal tragedy brought upon her by the Vietnam War, and, finally,  the meaning of the enigmatic tattoo below her right hip.

  

Absorbing and affirming, George Bishop’s magnificent debut brilliantly captures a sense of time and place with a distinct and inviting voice. Letter to My Daughter is a heartwrenching novel of mothers, daughters, and the lessons we all learn when we come of age.

About the Author

George Bishop holds an MFA from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, where he won the department’s Award of Excellence for a collection of stories. He has spent most of the past decade living and teaching overseas in Slovakia, Turkey, Indonesia, Azerbaijan, India, and Japan. He now lives in New Orleans.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club com, February 23, 2010 (view all comments by Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club com)
When her daughter Liz runs away from home on the eve of her 15th birthday, Laura decides to pass the excruciating hours waiting and hoping for her to come back by writing Liz a letter about her own troubled teen years.

Through her words, Laura reveals herself to her daughter completely: the difficult relationship she had with her own parents, how she resented her mother most of all, her relationship with a boy named Tim, and the consequences to her life because of that relationship. She talks honestly about her own sexual choices and why she rebelled against authority. And Laura is candid about her mistakes with Liz, and she makes a plea for understanding, saying parents don’t always know what they are doing when raising their children. They often get by doing the best they know how to do.

Letter to My Daughter by George Bishop is a great book for mother-daughter book clubs with girls in high school to read. Daughters often tend to think their mothers can’t possibly understand what they’re going through, but this book encourages girls to see their moms in a new light. Pre-book club discussion may be even more valuable, as moms and daughters may talk candidly about the mom’s formative years and how it affects her parenting now. It could also prompt conversation about the daughter’s world, and pressure she may feel from her friends or boyfriend.

When I started to read Letter to My Daughter, I was skeptical that a man could write well about a mother-daughter relationship. But that concern quickly went away as Laura’s strong voice brought me into her story. It’s a story that doesn’t include details about the years between her teen life and this letter, but that focus on a specific time period helps define the era she lived in as well as the circumstances she faced. I found it totally engrossing, and I highly recommend it as a mother-daughter book club pick.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345515988
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Bishop, George
Author:
George Bishop
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Family life
Subject:
Fiction : Science Fiction - General
Subject:
JUVENILE FICTION / General
Subject:
Fiction : Family Life
Subject:
Audio Books-Literature
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature-Family Life
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-A to Z
Subject:
Fiction : General
Publication Date:
20100216
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
160
Dimensions:
8.18x5.56x.80 in. .64 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Rapunzel's Revenge
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  2. Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Journey...
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  3. The Smart Aleck's Guide to American... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. The Sorceress (Secrets of the... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. These Boots Are Made for Stalking:... Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life

Letter to My Daughter: A Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 160 pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780345515988 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , For fans of Nicholas Sparks, Bishop delivers this heart-wrenching debut aboutmothers, daughters, and lessons learned.
"Synopsis" by , BONUS: This edition contains a Letter to My Daughter discussion guide.

A fight, ended by a slap, sends Elizabeth out the door of her Baton Rouge home on the eve of her fifteenth birthday. Her mother, Laura, is left to fret and worry—and remember. Wracked with guilt as she awaits Liz’s return, Laura begins a letter to her daughter, hoping to convey “everything I’ve always meant to tell you but never have.” In her painfully candid confession, Laura shares memories of her own troubled adolescence in rural Louisiana, her bittersweet relationship with a boy she loved despite her parents’ disapproval, and a personal tragedy that she can never forget. An absorbing and affirming debut,Letter to My Daughteris a heartwrenching novel of mothers, daughters, and the lessons we all learn when we come of age.

Look for special features inside.

Join the Circle for author chats and more.

RandomHouseReadersCircle.com

"Synopsis" by , Dear Elizabeth,

It’s early morning and I’m sitting here wondering where you are, hoping you’re all right.

 

A fight, ended by a slap, sends Elizabeth out the door of her Baton Rouge home on the eve of her fifteenth birthday. Her mother, Laura, is left to fret and worry—and remember. Wracked with guilt as she awaits Liz’s return, Laura begins a letter to her daughter, hoping to convey “everything I’ve always meant to tell you but never have.”

In her painfully candid confession, Laura shares memories of her own troubled adolescence in rural Louisiana, growing up in an intensely conservative household. She recounts her relationship with a boy she loved despite her parents’ disapproval, the fateful events that led to her being sent away to a strict Catholic boarding school, the personal tragedy brought upon her by the Vietnam War, and, finally,  the meaning of the enigmatic tattoo below her right hip.

  

Absorbing and affirming, George Bishop’s magnificent debut brilliantly captures a sense of time and place with a distinct and inviting voice. Letter to My Daughter is a heartwrenching novel of mothers, daughters, and the lessons we all learn when we come of age.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.