25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

The Marriage of the Sea

by

The Marriage of the Sea Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In a damp Venetian palace, Oswaldo contemplates the ravages of time to his body and his beloved city. In New York, Lach savors his freedom, having just dropped Vera to join his new love, Francesca, in Venice. In rainy London, Max packs for New Orleans, in pursuit of Lucinde, a woman he barely knows. From New Orleans, Lucinde flies to the aid and comfort of Vera, who has accepted a grant to paint in Venice. While elsewhere in the Crescent City, Anton, leaving for Venice, sketches a good-bye upon the slumbering body of his wife, Josephine. With wit, sympathy, and surpassing deftness, Jane Alison choreographs an intricate dance among these characters, whom love and loneliness, aspiration and desperation, have drawn to two famously romantic, venal, and elusive cities of water.

Review:

"Alison's poetic sensibility reveals itself in lyrical, intense prose and surprising juxtapositions. Each character's feverish thoughts rise to a crescendo of emotional turmoil and release, and in the process, carry the reader on a sinuous journey of discovery." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Ambitious, complex, challengingly intellectual — and yet Alison manages it all with a clarity, learnedness, and rigor that bring into being a creation of real beauty, albeit also of sorrow. Hers is a real and significant attempt, and a real achievement." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Although I was keenly interested in the characters and their relationships, I was even more interested in the characters' relationships with their surroundings, past and present....The most lasting union of The Marriage of the Sea is not, finally, between any of the characters but between them and the evanescent, seductive, heartless world they are seeking with such ardent specificity to inhabit — and sometimes to leave." Margot Livesey, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"Yes, you must pay close attention to the intricate plot. But in her second novel...Alison wonderfully captures the romantically stymied antics of smart people....Their fluid, eroding liaisons run parallel to the watery decay of both New Orleans and Venice. Fans of Hugo and Dickens will gobble this up." Library Journal

Review:

"Jane Alison certainly is a writer to watch." Robert Girardi, The Washington Post

Synopsis:

As alluring as "The Love-Artist, " this is a contemporary tale of love and ambition, betrayal and revenge, set in two gloriously watery cities.

About the Author

Jane Alison is the author of The Love-Artist. She lives in Germany.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374199418
Subtitle:
A Novel
Publisher:
Picador
Author:
Alison, Jane
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
New Orleans (La.)
Subject:
New orleans
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Love stories
Subject:
Venice (Italy)
Subject:
Venice
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series Volume:
97-296
Publication Date:
April 2003
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 x 0.614 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

The Marriage of the Sea
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 272 pages Farrar Straus Giroux - English 9780374199418 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Alison's poetic sensibility reveals itself in lyrical, intense prose and surprising juxtapositions. Each character's feverish thoughts rise to a crescendo of emotional turmoil and release, and in the process, carry the reader on a sinuous journey of discovery."
"Review" by , "Ambitious, complex, challengingly intellectual — and yet Alison manages it all with a clarity, learnedness, and rigor that bring into being a creation of real beauty, albeit also of sorrow. Hers is a real and significant attempt, and a real achievement."
"Review" by , "Although I was keenly interested in the characters and their relationships, I was even more interested in the characters' relationships with their surroundings, past and present....The most lasting union of The Marriage of the Sea is not, finally, between any of the characters but between them and the evanescent, seductive, heartless world they are seeking with such ardent specificity to inhabit — and sometimes to leave."
"Review" by , "Yes, you must pay close attention to the intricate plot. But in her second novel...Alison wonderfully captures the romantically stymied antics of smart people....Their fluid, eroding liaisons run parallel to the watery decay of both New Orleans and Venice. Fans of Hugo and Dickens will gobble this up."
"Review" by , "Jane Alison certainly is a writer to watch."
"Synopsis" by , As alluring as "The Love-Artist, " this is a contemporary tale of love and ambition, betrayal and revenge, set in two gloriously watery cities.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.