Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Games- Card Games- Poker

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker

by

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker Cover

 

Review-A-Day

"I found the author's writing about the tournament heart-stoppingly dramatic, as brilliant as anything ever written about poker. And while his coverage of the Binion trial feels less compelling, less fought-for, Positively Fifth Street, like Sin City itself, is an endlessly fascinating spectacle." Adrienne Miller, Esquire (read the entire Esquire review)

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the spring of 2000, Harper's Magazine sent James McManus to Las Vegas to cover the World Series of Poker, in particular the progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend. But when McManus arrives, the lure of the tables compels him to risk his entire Harper's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. This is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament — the players, the hand-to-hand combat, his own unlikely progress in it — and the delightfully seedy carnival atmosphere that surrounds it. Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies" — the eros and logistics of our competitive instincts.

Review:

"Chasing after the great big epic of the U.S.A., McManus finds at the poker table a reflection of just about everything that matters: love, money, violence, resentment, envy, fear. Positively Fifth Street is a love story, really, and just the far side of gonzo, too, with the tranquilized reporter following his dream right into the story — like the kid at the natural history museum who crawled inside the diorama." Rich Cohen, author of Lake Effect

Review:

"Murder, sex, drugs, Sylvia Plath, Amarillo Slim, the history of cards, the psychology of gambling, and most insistently the edgy drama of no-limit Texas hold'em — it's all here in language that nearly burns a hole in the page." Billy Collins, U.S. Poet Laureate

Review:

"Beware this book. Jim McManus portrays a Vegas that most of us don't believe ever really existed — seedy and thrilling and deadly — and his poker scenes rank with the most exciting sports writing you'll ever find. I'd never even heard of Texas hold'em when I first read his blow-by-blow account of how far he made it — as an amateur! — in the World Series of Poker. Now, because of him, I'm hooked on the game." Ira Glass, host of This American Life

Review:

"Very entertaining and very accurate." David Sklansky, author of The Theory of Poker

Synopsis:

Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies" — the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.

Synopsis:

In the spring of 2000, Harper's Magazine sent James McManus to Las Vegas to cover the World Series of Poker, in particular the progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend. But when McManus arrives, the lure of the tables compels him to risk his entire Harper's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. This is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament--the players, the hand-to-hand combat, his own unlikely progress in it--and the delightfully seedy carnival atmosphere that surrounds it. Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies"--the eros and logistics of our competitive instincts.

Synopsis:

Rough sex, black magic, and the science--and eros--of gambling.

Meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas.

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harpers to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23-million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournaments prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harpers advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself--the players, the hand-to-hand, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of Americas card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one mans effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies"--the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.

About the Author

James McManus is a novelist and poet, most recently winner of the Peter Lisagor Award for sports journalism. He teaches writing and comparative literature at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, including a course on the literature and science of poker.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374236489
Subtitle:
Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker
Author:
McManus, James
Publisher:
Macmillan Audio
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Gambling - Card Games
Subject:
Poker
Subject:
General Sports & Recreation
Subject:
Murder - General
Subject:
Card Games - Poker
Subject:
Poker - Competitions - United States
Subject:
Gambling - General
Subject:
Popular Culture
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
678-M
Publication Date:
20030416
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
3 CDs, 3 hours
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9.00 x 6.00 in

Other books you might like

  1. Play Poker like the Pros Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Bringing Down the House: The Inside...
    Used Hardcover $0.95
  3. Amarillo Slim in a World Full of Fat...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Big Deal: One Year as a Professional... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Swimming with the Devil Fish New Trade Paper $13.50
  6. Double Down: Reflections on Gambling... Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

» BLOCKED
» Hobbies, Crafts, and Leisure » Games » Card Games » Poker
» Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports Psychology

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Farrar Straus Giroux - English 9780374236489 Reviews:
"Review A Day" by , "I found the author's writing about the tournament heart-stoppingly dramatic, as brilliant as anything ever written about poker. And while his coverage of the Binion trial feels less compelling, less fought-for, Positively Fifth Street, like Sin City itself, is an endlessly fascinating spectacle." (read the entire Esquire review)
"Review" by , "Chasing after the great big epic of the U.S.A., McManus finds at the poker table a reflection of just about everything that matters: love, money, violence, resentment, envy, fear. Positively Fifth Street is a love story, really, and just the far side of gonzo, too, with the tranquilized reporter following his dream right into the story — like the kid at the natural history museum who crawled inside the diorama."
"Review" by , "Murder, sex, drugs, Sylvia Plath, Amarillo Slim, the history of cards, the psychology of gambling, and most insistently the edgy drama of no-limit Texas hold'em — it's all here in language that nearly burns a hole in the page."
"Review" by , "Beware this book. Jim McManus portrays a Vegas that most of us don't believe ever really existed — seedy and thrilling and deadly — and his poker scenes rank with the most exciting sports writing you'll ever find. I'd never even heard of Texas hold'em when I first read his blow-by-blow account of how far he made it — as an amateur! — in the World Series of Poker. Now, because of him, I'm hooked on the game."
"Review" by , "Very entertaining and very accurate."
"Synopsis" by , Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies" — the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the spring of 2000, Harper's Magazine sent James McManus to Las Vegas to cover the World Series of Poker, in particular the progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend. But when McManus arrives, the lure of the tables compels him to risk his entire Harper's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. This is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament--the players, the hand-to-hand combat, his own unlikely progress in it--and the delightfully seedy carnival atmosphere that surrounds it. Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies"--the eros and logistics of our competitive instincts.

"Synopsis" by ,
Rough sex, black magic, and the science--and eros--of gambling.

Meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas.

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harpers to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23-million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournaments prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harpers advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself--the players, the hand-to-hand, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of Americas card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one mans effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies"--the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.