Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | April 6, 2015

    Mary Norris: IMG Voracious



    In the summer of 2012, I got a contract for a book about language, based on my experiences of more than 30 years as a copy editor at The New Yorker.... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Dating Is Murder

by

Dating Is Murder Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Wollie Shelley is a greeting card artist struggling to keep afloat financially and to pursue — despite a series of recent disasters — the search for the love of her life. She reluctantly agrees to be a contestant on the reality television show Biological Clock. The show's premise: nine eligible singles date each other, and the audience votes on which couple would make the best parents. Alas, Wollie isn't having much luck finding a man she'd like to date "off the air"; much less father her child. As the biological clock ticks away, Wollie gets caught up in a much more pressing demand on her time. Her friend Annika has vanished into thin air and Wollie is convinced that she's in grave danger.

When Wollie reports the disappearance to the Los Angeles Police Department, however, the detective assigned to the case seems more interested in dating Wollie than in finding her friend. So Wollie springs into action — and lands right in the middle of an FBI investigation into an international drug cartel. She soon finds herself being stalked by an assortment of threatening characters, including her fellow television contestants, who will stop at nothing to beat the clock.

"Kozak has struck gold first time out with a wacky, high-octane plot and characters to match," Publishers Weekly declared in their enthusiastic review of Dating Dead Men. With Dating Is Murder, Kozak delivers another sparkling treasure, a laugh-out-loud funny, literate mystery for readers of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton, and for Kozak's own growing legion of fans.

Review:

"Having survived serial dating in Dating Dead Men (2004), Kozak's Wollie (short for Wollstonecraft) Shelley takes on a new challenge by participating in Biological Clock, a reality show featuring women 'd'un ge certain,' in her stellar second adventure, set against the L.A. backdrop her actor-creator knows so well. The goofy TV production is yet another means to help Wollie save her greeting card line (Good Golly Miss Wollies) and care for her mentally ill brother, P.B. In the midst of all the wicked dating fun, Wollie finds herself looking into the disappearance of Annika, a German production assistant who also works as an au pair for Maizie Quinn, a glossy Encino supermom. The hunt for Annika, who's also Wollie's math tutor, proves to be far more intriguing than being one of three women dating three men while waiting for the audience's verdict 'on which combination of genes should produce a child.' Wollie's investigation soon brings her onto the radar of a sexy pseudo-stalker federal agent, who keeps warning her off the case, to no avail. As witty as early Evanovich and as irresistible as current Crusie, Kozak establishes her unique voice in Wollie's wistful, self-deprecating but stubborn working-class persona that fans of diva lit (chick lit that's grown up and added a body count) will love. The pace of this quirky cool mystery never falters, and the breezy characterizations will inspire more than a few to ask the author, 'So, you gonna play Wollie in the film or what?' Agent, Renee Zuckerbrot. (Mar. 15)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Kozak has struck gold first time out with a wacky, high-octane plot and characters to match." Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Review:

"Kozak's debut is a lively, funny romp for fans of lighthearted mysteries." Booklist

Review:

"Kozak offers more insight and depth than is found in just about any other chick lit offering out there today." Washington Post

Review:

"Screwball antics reminiscent of ones carried out by author Janet Evanovich's New Jersey bounty hunter Stephanie Plum could dub Wollie the designated ditsy detective of the West Coast." USA Today

Review:

"[I]t is the voice of Wollie, who is fast approaching 40, that is spot-on perfect, humorous and poignant enough by turns to win the series new fans and make Kozak a contender in the never-ending quest for the perfect quirky mystery." Los Angeles Times

Review:

"Wollie Shelley is back from Dating Dead Men, ready to try again. Here, she gets involved in a reality TV show but is sidetracked when friend Annika disappears." Library Journal (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.)

Review:

"...Kozak delivers an entertaining bit of murderous chick-lit...It's pure screwball fun all the way..." The Denver Post

Synopsis:

With "Dating Is Murder," Kozak delivers another sparkling treasure, a laugh-out-loud funny, literate mystery for readers of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton, and for Kozak's own growing legion of fans.

About the Author

Harley Jane Kozak is an actor whose screen credits include Parenthood, The Favor, and Arachnophobia. Her debut novel, Dating Dead Men, received wide critical praise. She lives in Topanga Canyon, California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385510349
Publisher:
Random House
Subject:
Dating (social customs)
Author:
Kozak, Harley Jane
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Missing persons
Copyright:
Publication Date:
January 2005
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.50x6.40x1.08 in. 1.40 lbs.

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Dating Is Murder
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages Doubleday Books - English 9780385510349 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Having survived serial dating in Dating Dead Men (2004), Kozak's Wollie (short for Wollstonecraft) Shelley takes on a new challenge by participating in Biological Clock, a reality show featuring women 'd'un ge certain,' in her stellar second adventure, set against the L.A. backdrop her actor-creator knows so well. The goofy TV production is yet another means to help Wollie save her greeting card line (Good Golly Miss Wollies) and care for her mentally ill brother, P.B. In the midst of all the wicked dating fun, Wollie finds herself looking into the disappearance of Annika, a German production assistant who also works as an au pair for Maizie Quinn, a glossy Encino supermom. The hunt for Annika, who's also Wollie's math tutor, proves to be far more intriguing than being one of three women dating three men while waiting for the audience's verdict 'on which combination of genes should produce a child.' Wollie's investigation soon brings her onto the radar of a sexy pseudo-stalker federal agent, who keeps warning her off the case, to no avail. As witty as early Evanovich and as irresistible as current Crusie, Kozak establishes her unique voice in Wollie's wistful, self-deprecating but stubborn working-class persona that fans of diva lit (chick lit that's grown up and added a body count) will love. The pace of this quirky cool mystery never falters, and the breezy characterizations will inspire more than a few to ask the author, 'So, you gonna play Wollie in the film or what?' Agent, Renee Zuckerbrot. (Mar. 15)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Kozak has struck gold first time out with a wacky, high-octane plot and characters to match." (starred review)
"Review" by , "Kozak's debut is a lively, funny romp for fans of lighthearted mysteries."
"Review" by , "Kozak offers more insight and depth than is found in just about any other chick lit offering out there today."
"Review" by , "Screwball antics reminiscent of ones carried out by author Janet Evanovich's New Jersey bounty hunter Stephanie Plum could dub Wollie the designated ditsy detective of the West Coast."
"Review" by , "[I]t is the voice of Wollie, who is fast approaching 40, that is spot-on perfect, humorous and poignant enough by turns to win the series new fans and make Kozak a contender in the never-ending quest for the perfect quirky mystery."
"Review" by , "Wollie Shelley is back from Dating Dead Men, ready to try again. Here, she gets involved in a reality TV show but is sidetracked when friend Annika disappears." (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.)
"Review" by , "...Kozak delivers an entertaining bit of murderous chick-lit...It's pure screwball fun all the way..."
"Synopsis" by , With "Dating Is Murder," Kozak delivers another sparkling treasure, a laugh-out-loud funny, literate mystery for readers of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton, and for Kozak's own growing legion of fans.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.