Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »

    spacer

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

by

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Cover

ISBN13: 9780385729338
ISBN10: 0385729332
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.25!

 

Awards

Winner of the 2004 Young Reader's Choice Award, Senior Division

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Carmen got the jeans at a thrift shop. They didn?t look all that great: they were worn, dirty, and speckled with bleach. On the night before she and her friends part for the summer, Carmen decides to toss them. But Tibby says they?re great. She'd love to have them. Lena and Bridget also think they?re fabulous. Lena decides that they should all try them on. Whoever they fit best will get them. Nobody knows why, but the pants fit everyone perfectly. Even Carmen (who never thinks she looks good in anything) thinks she looks good in the pants. Over a few bags of cheese puffs, they decide to form a sisterhood and take the vow of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants...

The next morning, they say good-bye. And then the journey of the pants — and the most memorable summer of their lives — begins.

Review:

"Brashares deftly moves from narrative to narrative, weaving together themes from the mundane to the profoundly important, from death to raging hormones, from stepfamilies to dead-end minimum-wage jobs....A complex book about a solid group of friends, with each one a strong and courageous individual in her own right." Linda Bindner, School Library Journal

Review:

"Debut novelist Brashares renders each girl individual and lovable in her own right, emphasizing growing up without growing apart. Move over, Ya Ya Sisters." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"This tale of four teenage girls and a magic pair of bluejeans they find and share one summer has resonated far more deeply than any of the grown-up novels I've read this year." Deidre Donahue, USA Today

Synopsis:

A laugh-out-loud high school adventure set in Greece, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot 

 

High school sophomore Zona Lowell has lived in New York City her whole life, and plans to follow in the footsteps of her renowned-journalist father. But when he announces theyre moving to Athens for six months so he can work on an important new story, she's devastated— he must have an ulterior motive. See, when Zona's mother married an American, her huge Greek family cut off contact. But Zona never knew her mom, and now shes supposed to uproot her entire life and meet possibly hostile relatives on their turf? Thanks... but no thanks. 

 

In the vein of Anna and the French Kiss, Zona navigates a series of hilarious escapades, eye-opening revelations, and unexpected reunions in a foreign country—all while documenting the trip through one-of-a-kind commentary.

 

About the Author

Ann Brashares grew up in Chevy Chase, Maryland with her three brothers and attended a Quaker school in the DC area called Sidwell Friends. She studied Philosophy at Barnard College, part of Columbia University in New York City. Expecting to continue studying philosophy in graduate school, Ann took a year off after college to work as an editor, hoping to save money for school. Loving her job, she never went to graduate school, and instead, remained in New York City and worked as an editor for many years. Last year, Ann made the transition from editor to full-time writer and wrote her first novel, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

Ann lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband, Jacob Collins, an artist, and their three children, Sam, Nathaniel, and Susannah, their newborn, who is an honorary member of the Sisterhood.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

kassy_chris, November 1, 2007 (view all comments by kassy_chris)
This book was completely and totally full of excitement and heart-racing moments that you don't want to miss. I highly recommend it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(26 of 31 readers found this comment helpful)
aka_maria1234, October 27, 2006 (view all comments by aka_maria1234)
As a fifteen year old girl, I think this book is awesome!!! The setting, the main idea, the characters is perfect. It couldn't be better. I like it because they are teenagers, like me, and it really inflences friendships in this world. I love this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(20 of 34 readers found this comment helpful)
clau201, September 25, 2006 (view all comments by clau201)
this book is just awesome! it's written beautifully and the characters are very real you will probably be able to identify with one or more of them. I love this book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(21 of 44 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385729338
Author:
Brashares, Ann
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Author:
Shaw, Tucker
Author:
Zeitlin, Meredith
Location:
New York
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - Friendship
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Best friends
Subject:
Jeans (Clothing)
Subject:
Pants.
Subject:
Jeans
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
fiction;young adult;friendship;ya;coming of age;teen;summer;romance;chick lit;girls;friends;realistic fiction;travel;pants;movie;jeans;family;greece;death;love;relationships;sisterhood;sisterhood of the traveling pants;young adult fiction;growing up;high
Subject:
fiction;young adult;friendship;ya;coming of age;teen;summer;romance;chick lit;girls;friends;realistic fiction;travel;pants;movie;jeans;family;greece;death;love;relationships;sisterhood;sisterhood of the traveling pants;young adult fiction;growing up;high
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
Series Volume:
no. 54
Publication Date:
September 2001
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.52 x 5.88 in.
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Second Summer of the Sisterhood
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. The Skin I'm in
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Cut
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Sloppy Firsts: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  5. The Chocolate War
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. The First Part Last
    Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.25 In Stock
Product details 336 pages RANDOM HOUSE TRADE - English 9780385729338 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Brashares deftly moves from narrative to narrative, weaving together themes from the mundane to the profoundly important, from death to raging hormones, from stepfamilies to dead-end minimum-wage jobs....A complex book about a solid group of friends, with each one a strong and courageous individual in her own right."
"Review" by , "Debut novelist Brashares renders each girl individual and lovable in her own right, emphasizing growing up without growing apart. Move over, Ya Ya Sisters."
"Review" by , "This tale of four teenage girls and a magic pair of bluejeans they find and share one summer has resonated far more deeply than any of the grown-up novels I've read this year."
"Synopsis" by ,
A laugh-out-loud high school adventure set in Greece, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot 

 

High school sophomore Zona Lowell has lived in New York City her whole life, and plans to follow in the footsteps of her renowned-journalist father. But when he announces theyre moving to Athens for six months so he can work on an important new story, she's devastated— he must have an ulterior motive. See, when Zona's mother married an American, her huge Greek family cut off contact. But Zona never knew her mom, and now shes supposed to uproot her entire life and meet possibly hostile relatives on their turf? Thanks... but no thanks. 

 

In the vein of Anna and the French Kiss, Zona navigates a series of hilarious escapades, eye-opening revelations, and unexpected reunions in a foreign country—all while documenting the trip through one-of-a-kind commentary.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.