Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 17, 2014

    Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



    My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Cheating at Canasta: Stories

by

Cheating at Canasta: Stories Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The publication of a new book by William Trevor is a great literary event. Trevo‛s last collection, A Bit on the Side, was named a New York Times Notable Book and hailed as one of the Best Books of the Year by papers from coast to coast, including The Washington Post and San Francisco Chronicle. And his earlier collection, After Rain, published in 1996, was named one of the eight best books of the year by The New York Times.

Trevo‛s precise and unflinching insights into the hearts and lives of ordinary people are evidenced once again in this stunning new collection. From a chance encounter between two childhood friends to the memories of a newly widowed man to a family grappling with the sale of their ancestral land, Trevor examines with grace and skill the tenuous bonds of our relationships, the strengths that hold us together, and the truths that threaten to separate us. Subtle yet powerful, his stories linger with the reader long after the words have been put away.


Review:

"'The 12 stories of Trevor's latest collection blend an orchestra conductor's feel for subtlety with a monsignor's banishment of moral ambiguity. In 'The Dressmaker's Child,' a 2006 O. Henry Award winner, the future seems predetermined for rural mechanic Cahal, until the preteen daughter of the village dressmaker runs at his car with a stone in her hand. 'Men of Ireland' has the elderly Father Meade being visited by Donal Prunty, 52, a onetime altar boy gone derelict with the years. Father Meade, complicit (or perhaps not) in Prunty's undoing, learns that the erosion of memory extirpates nothing and only compounds one's regrets. The widower Mallory of the title story finds that mortality does not quite do away with the need for role playing and reverse strategies in marriage. And when Mollie of 'At Olivehill' is at last goaded by her sons into selling her deceased husband's woodlands, the earthmovers appear with the alacrity of enemy tanks, altering her internal landscape as well. The book as a whole recalls Joyce's Dubliners in making melancholia a powerful narrative device.' Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)"

Review:

"There is terror and beauty in William Trevor's heartbreaking new collection, the fourth since his huge 'Collected Stories' of 1992. In the tradition of Frank O'Connor, Sean O'Faolain and James Joyce, Trevor is a master of delicacy and precision. He inhabits the skin of his lonely characters, mercilessly and compassionately revealing the moral and psychological complexities that lie beneath.

... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

Synopsis:

A new collection from ?the greatest living writer of short stories in the English language? (The New Yorker)

The publication of a new book by William Trevor is a true literary event. One of our finest chroniclers of the human condition, Trevor?s precise and unflinching insights into the lives of ordinary people are evidenced once again in this stunning collection of twelve stories. Subtle yet powerful, these exquisitely nuanced tales of regret, deception, adultery, aging, and forgiveness are a rare pleasure, and they confirm Trevor?s reputation as a master of the form. From a chance encounter between two childhood friends to memories of a newly widowed man to a family grappling with the sale of ancestral land, Trevor examines with grace and skill the tenuous bonds of our relationships, the strengths that hold us together, and the truths that threaten to separate us.

Synopsis:

Trevors precise and unflinching insights into the hearts and lives of ordinary people are evidenced once again in this stunning new collection in which the author examines the tenuous bonds of relationships, the strengths that hold people together, and the truths that threaten to separate them.

About the Author

William Trevor was born in Mitchelstown, County Cork, in 1928, and spent his childhood in provincial Ireland. He attended Trinity College, Dublin. He is a member of the Irish Academy of Letters and a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670018376
Subtitle:
Stories
Author:
Trevor, William
Publisher:
Viking Adult
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Short Stories (single author)
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20071018
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.78x6.26x.85 in. .81 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Abstinence Teacher Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. Beethoven Was One-Sixteenth Black:... Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. The View from Castle Rock: Stories
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. The Art of Simple Food: Notes,...
    Used Hardcover $18.00
  5. The Shy Creatures
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  6. The Alphabet from A to Y with Bonus...
    Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Cheating at Canasta: Stories Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Viking Books - English 9780670018376 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "'The 12 stories of Trevor's latest collection blend an orchestra conductor's feel for subtlety with a monsignor's banishment of moral ambiguity. In 'The Dressmaker's Child,' a 2006 O. Henry Award winner, the future seems predetermined for rural mechanic Cahal, until the preteen daughter of the village dressmaker runs at his car with a stone in her hand. 'Men of Ireland' has the elderly Father Meade being visited by Donal Prunty, 52, a onetime altar boy gone derelict with the years. Father Meade, complicit (or perhaps not) in Prunty's undoing, learns that the erosion of memory extirpates nothing and only compounds one's regrets. The widower Mallory of the title story finds that mortality does not quite do away with the need for role playing and reverse strategies in marriage. And when Mollie of 'At Olivehill' is at last goaded by her sons into selling her deceased husband's woodlands, the earthmovers appear with the alacrity of enemy tanks, altering her internal landscape as well. The book as a whole recalls Joyce's Dubliners in making melancholia a powerful narrative device.' Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)"
"Synopsis" by ,
A new collection from ?the greatest living writer of short stories in the English language? (The New Yorker)

The publication of a new book by William Trevor is a true literary event. One of our finest chroniclers of the human condition, Trevor?s precise and unflinching insights into the lives of ordinary people are evidenced once again in this stunning collection of twelve stories. Subtle yet powerful, these exquisitely nuanced tales of regret, deception, adultery, aging, and forgiveness are a rare pleasure, and they confirm Trevor?s reputation as a master of the form. From a chance encounter between two childhood friends to memories of a newly widowed man to a family grappling with the sale of ancestral land, Trevor examines with grace and skill the tenuous bonds of our relationships, the strengths that hold us together, and the truths that threaten to separate us.

"Synopsis" by , Trevors precise and unflinching insights into the hearts and lives of ordinary people are evidenced once again in this stunning new collection in which the author examines the tenuous bonds of relationships, the strengths that hold people together, and the truths that threaten to separate them.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.