Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School

White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In White Coat, Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues — such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide — the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences — from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat.

For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of ER, White Coat is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

About the Author

Ellen Lerner Rothman, M.D., lives with her husband, Carlos Lerner, in Brookline, Massachusetts. She is currently doing her residency in the Boston Combined Pediatrics Program at Boston Children's Hospital and Boston City Hospital. This is her first book. Ellen Lerner Rothman, M.D., lives with her husband, Carlos Lerner, in Brookline, Massachusetts. She is currently doing her residency in the Boston Combined Pediatrics Program at Boston Children's Hospital and Boston City Hospital. This is her first book.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780688153137
Subtitle:
Becoming A Doctor At Harvard Medical School
Author:
Rothman, Ellen Lerner
Author:
Rothman, Ellen
Author:
Rothman, Ellen L.
Publisher:
William Morrow
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
Women
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Medical
Subject:
Physicians
Subject:
Women physicians
Subject:
Medical students
Subject:
Medical students -- United States -- Biography.
Subject:
Medical - General
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
19990317
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.58x6.50x1.30 in. 1.35 lbs.

Related Subjects

Biography » Women
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Essays

White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780688153137 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.