The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Newbery Award Winners
2 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- Newbery Award Winners

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

by

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler Cover

ISBN13: 9780689711817
ISBN10: 0689711816
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Awards

Winner of the 1968 Newbery Medal.

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut

When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfathers painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. Thats great news for Theo, whos struggling to hang onto her familys two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfathers legacy of $463. Theres just one problem: Theos grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen.

With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city—and her grandfather—that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.

Synopsis:

Having runaway with her younger brother to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, twelve-year-old Claudia strives to keep things in order in their new home and to become a changed person and a heroine to herself.

Synopsis:

In the third book in the Lemonade War series, siblings Evan and Jessieand#160;must solve the mystery of a missing cherished family treasure while coming to terms with their beloved grandmother's unsettling behavior.

Synopsis:

Theand#160;third installment ofand#160;the popular Lemonade War series findsand#160;siblings Evan and Jessie Treski at their grandmother's Vermont houseand#160;for the holidays,and#160;solving another mystery. This one involves figuring outand#160;who stole a cherished bell the whole neighborhoodand#160;gathers around to ring in the new year. Evan and Jessieand#160;also come to grips with unsettling changes in theirand#160;grandmother'sand#160;behavior.and#160;Once again, Ms. Davies reveals how good she is at understanding the complex emotions of children age nine to twelve years old.and#160;
and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;

Synopsis:

For fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them--that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston's biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer's suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It's a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she's ever lived by to find the art and save her family.

About the Author

andlt;Bandgt;E.L. Konigsburgandlt;/Bandgt; is the only author to have won the Newbery Medal and be runner-up in the same year. In 1968, andlt;iandgt;From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweilerandlt;/iandgt; won the Newbery Medal and andlt;iandgt;Jennifer, Hecate, Macbeth, William McKinley, and Me, Elizabethandlt;/iandgt; was named a Newbery Honor Book. Almost thirty years later she won the Newbery Medal once again for andlt;iandgt;The View From Saturdayandlt;/iandgt;. She has also written and illustrated three picture books: andlt;iandgt;Samuel Toddand#8217;s Book of Great Colorsandlt;/iandgt;, andlt;iandgt;Samuel Toddand#8217;s Book of Great Inventionsandlt;/iandgt;, and andlt;iandgt;Amy Elizabeth Explores Bloomingdaleand#8217;sandlt;/iandgt;. In 2000 she wrote andlt;iandgt;Silent to the Boneandlt;/iandgt;, which was named a andlt;iandgt;New York Timesandlt;/iandgt; Notable Book and an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, among many other honors.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;After completing her degree at Carnegie Mellon University, Ms. Konigsburg did graduate work in organic chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh. For several years she taught science at a private girlsand#8217; school. When the third of her three children started kindergarten, she began to write. She now lives on the beach in North Florida.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

relda666, October 5, 2008 (view all comments by relda666)
This is one of my favorite books from my childhood and one I still enjoy today. The adventures of two children who run away from home, live in a museum, and solve an ages old mystery. Children's literature does not get any better!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(9 of 19 readers found this comment helpful)
Virginia, November 2, 2006 (view all comments by Virginia)
This was my favorite book when I was in fourth grade. Now I have had the pleasure of reading it again with my daughter. It still rings true. Who wouldn't want to live undiscovered in a museum and roam the exhibits? The book explains questions you might wonder about; how do they get money for food and do they bathe? Yes, they help solve a mystery but what I really love about this book is the sense that the children really hid out in the museum & I wish I could join them.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(26 of 42 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780689711817
Author:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Author:
Broekel
Illustrator:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Author:
Fitzgerald, Laura Marx
Author:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Author:
Davies, Jacqueline
Author:
Dionne, Erin
Author:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Publisher:
Aladdin Paperbacks
Location:
New York, NY
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
People & Places - United States
Subject:
Family - Siblings
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Art (painting sculpture artists architecture etc.)
Subject:
New york (n.y.)
Subject:
Runaways
Subject:
New York (City)
Subject:
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Museums
Subject:
Self-reliance
Subject:
Childrens classics
Subject:
Law & Crime
Subject:
Claudia Kincaid; Claudia; Met; Metropolitan Museum of Art; Metropolitan Museum; New York City; classic; Newbery Medal Winner; Newbery; run away from home; runaway; children s classic; sleepover; overnight; must-read; mystery
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Rev. cover ed.
Edition Description:
B102
Series:
The Lemonade War Series
Series Volume:
1995
Publication Date:
April 1998
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c cvr
Pages:
168
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Island of the Blue Dolphins
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  2. Number the Stars (Yearling Newbery)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Maniac Magee Used Book Club Paperback $1.95
  4. The Westing Game
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. The Giver
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  6. From the Mixed Up Files of MRS Basil... Used Mass Market $1.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Art » General
Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Classics » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Runaways

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 168 pages Aladdin Publishing Company - English 9780689711817 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Having runaway with her younger brother to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, twelve-year-old Claudia strives to keep things in order in their new home and to become a changed person and a heroine to herself.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the third book in the Lemonade War series, siblings Evan and Jessieand#160;must solve the mystery of a missing cherished family treasure while coming to terms with their beloved grandmother's unsettling behavior.
"Synopsis" by ,
Theand#160;third installment ofand#160;the popular Lemonade War series findsand#160;siblings Evan and Jessie Treski at their grandmother's Vermont houseand#160;for the holidays,and#160;solving another mystery. This one involves figuring outand#160;who stole a cherished bell the whole neighborhoodand#160;gathers around to ring in the new year. Evan and Jessieand#160;also come to grips with unsettling changes in theirand#160;grandmother'sand#160;behavior.and#160;Once again, Ms. Davies reveals how good she is at understanding the complex emotions of children age nine to twelve years old.and#160;
and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them--that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston's biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer's suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It's a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she's ever lived by to find the art and save her family.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.